Exchange of Notes Concerning the Automatic Exchange of Information between Canada and Switzerland

This electronic version is provided for ease of reference only and has no official sanction


The Honourable William Francis Morneau
Minister of Finance

Bern, 9 December 2016

Your Excellency,

I have the honour to refer to the Joint Declaration signed on 4 February 2016, declaring the intention of Switzerland and Canada to introduce on a reciprocal basis automatic exchange of financial account information in tax matters based on the OECD Common Reporting Standard and the Commentaries thereon between each other, beginning in the year 2017 (first transmission of data in 2018), as well as to the Convention of 25 January 1988 on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters as amended by the Protocol of 27 May 2010 amending the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters (hereafter "amended Convention").

This automatic exchange of information shall be based on Article 6 of the amended Convention and the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement of 29 October 2014 on Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information (thereafter "CRS MCAA"). Pursuant to its Article 28 paragraph 6, the amended Convention shall have effect for administrative assistance related to taxable periods beginning on or after 1 January of the year following the one in which the amended Convention entered into force in respect of a Party, or where there is no taxable period, for administrative assistance related to charges to tax arising on or after 1 January of the year following the one in which the amended Convention entered into force in respect of a Party.

Considering that Article 28 paragraph 6 of the amended Convention provides that any two or more Parties may mutually agree that the amended Convention shall have effect for administrative assistance to earlier taxable periods or charges to tax, I have the honour to propose, on behalf of the Swiss Federal Council, that Switzerland and Canada mutually agree that Article 6 of the amended Convention and the CRS MCAA shall have effect to taxable periods beginning on or after 1 January 2017.

If the above proposal is acceptable to the Government of Canada, I have the honour to suggest that the present letter and Your Excellency's reply reflecting such acceptance should constitute an Agreement between our two Governments in this matter. This Agreement shall enter into force on the later of January 1, 2017 and the date of the notification by which the Government of Canada informs the Swiss Federal Council that the domestic procedures in Canada for its entry into force have been completed. If the entry into force is after January 1, 2017, this Agreement shall be applied provisionally as of January 1, 2017.

Yours sincerely
Ueli Maurer Federal Councillor


Ueli Maurer
Federal Councillor

December 22, 2016

Your Excellency,

I have the honour to acknowledge receipt of your letter dated December 9, 2016 which states in its entirety as follows:

"Your Excellency:

I have the honour to refer to the Joint Declaration signed on 4 February 2016, declaring the intention of Switzerland and Canada to introduce on a reciprocal basis automatic exchange of financial account information in tax matters based on the OECD Common Reporting Standard and the Commentaries thereon between each other, beginning in the year 2017 (first transmission of data in 2018), as well as to the Convention of 25 January 1988 on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters as amended by the Protocol of 27 May 2010 amending the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters (hereafter "amended Convention").

This automatic exchange of information shall be based on Article 6 of the amended Convention and the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement of 29 October 2014 on Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information (thereafter "CRS MCAA"). Pursuant to its Article 28 paragraph 6, the amended Convention shall have effect for administrative assistance related to taxable periods beginning on or after 1 January of the year following the one in which the amended Convention entered into force in respect of a Party, or where there is no taxable period, for administrative assistance related to charges to tax arising on or after 1 January of the year following the one in which the amended Convention entered into force in respect of a Party.  Considering that Article 28 paragraph 6 of the amended Convention provides that any two or more Parties may mutually agree that the amended Convention shall have effect for administrative assistance to earlier taxable periods or charges to tax, I have the honour to propose, on behalf of the Swiss Federal Council, that Switzerland and Canada mutually agree that Article 6 of the amended Convention and the CRS MCAA shall have effect to taxable periods beginning on or after 1 January 2017.

If the above proposal is acceptable to the Government of Canada, I have the honour to suggest that the present letter and Your Excellency's reply reflecting such acceptance should constitute an Agreement between our two Governments in this matter. This Agreement shall enter into force on the later of January 1, 2017 and the date of the notification by which the Government of Canada informs the Swiss Federal Council that the domestic procedures in Canada for its entry into force have been completed. If the entry into force is after January 1, 2017, this Agreement  shall be applied provisionally as of January 1, 2017.

Please accept, Excellency, the assurance of my highest consideration,

Ueli Maurer
Federal Councillor"

I am pleased to inform you that the Government of Canada accepts the proposal set forth in your letter. The Government of Canada further agrees that your letter, which is authentic in English and in French, together with this reply, shall constitute an Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of Switzerland, which will enter into force on the later of January 1, 2017 and the date of the notification by which the Government of Canada informs the Swiss Federal Council that the domestic procedures in Canada for its entry into force have been completed. If the entry into force is after January 1, 2017, this Agreement shall be applied provisionally as of January 1, 2017.

Accept, Excellency, the renewed assurances of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,
The Honourable William Francis Morneau, P.C., M.P.

Échange de notes diplomatiques concernant l'échange automatique de renseignements entre le Canada et la Suisse

Cette version électronique n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle


L'honorable William Francis Morneau
Ministre des finances du gouvernement du Canada

Berne, le 9 décembre 2016

Excellence,

J'ai l'honneur de me référer à la Déclaration commune signée le 4 février 2016, dans laquelle la Suisse et le Canada ont exprimé leur intention d'introduire, sur une base réciproque, l'échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers en matière fiscale fondé sur la Norme commune de déclaration de l'OCDE et les commentaires s'y rapportant, à compter de 2017 (avec une première transmission de données en 2018), ainsi qu'à la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale du 25 janvier 1988, telle qu'elle est amendée par le Protocole d'amendement à la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale du 27 mai 2010 (ci-après la « Convention amendée »).

Cet échange automatique de renseignements sera fondé sur l'article 6 de la Convention amendée et sur l'Accord multilatéral entre autorités compétentes concernant l'échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers du 29 octobre 2014 (ci-après I'« AMAC »). En vertu du paragraphe 6 de l'article 28 de la Convention amendée, celle-ci s'applique a l'assistance administrative couvrant les périodes d'imposition qui débutent le 1er janvier, ou après le 1er janvier, de l'année qui suit celle durant laquelle la Convention amendée entrera en vigueur à l'égard d'une Partie ou, en l'absence de période d'imposition, à l'assistance administrative portant sur des obligations fiscales prenant naissance le 1er janvier, ou après le 1er janvier, de l'année qui suit celle durant laquelle la Convention amendée entrera en vigueur à l'égard d'une Partie.

Considérant que le paragraphe 6 de l'article 28 de la Convention amendée prévoit que deux Parties ou plus peuvent convenir que la Convention amendée prendra effet pour ce qui concerne l'assistance administrative portant sur des périodes d'imposition ou obligations fiscales antérieures, j'ai l'honneur de proposer, au nom du Conseil fédéral suisse, que la Suisse et le Canada conviennent que l'article 6 de la Convention amendée et l'AMAC prendront effet relativement aux périodes d'imposition qui débutent le 1er janvier 2017 ou après cette date.

Si la proposition qui précède est jugée acceptable par le Gouvernement du Canada, j'ai l'honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et votre réponse faisant foi de cette acceptation constituent un Accord entre nos deux gouvernements. Cet Accord entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017 ou, si elle est postérieure, à la date à laquelle le Gouvernement du Canada aura notifié au Conseil fédéral suisse l'accomplissement des procédures internes du Canada requises pour son entrée en vigueur. Si l'entrée en vigueur est postérieure au 1er janvier 2017, cet Accord sera appliqué à titre provisoire à compter du 1er janvier 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Excellence, l'assurance de ma haute considération,

Ueli Maurer
Conseiller federal


Ueli Maurer
Conseiller federal

Le 22 décembre 2016

Excellence,

J'ai l'honneur d'accuser réception de votre lettre du 9 décembre 2016, dont le texte intégral se lit comme suit :

« Excellence,

J'ai l'honneur de me référer à la Déclaration commune signée le 4 février 2016, dans laquelle la Suisse et le Canada ont exprimé leur intention d'introduire, sur une base réciproque, l'échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers en matière fiscale fondé sur la Norme commune de déclaration de l'OCDE et les commentaires s'y rapportant, à compter de 2017 (avec une première transmission de données en 2018), ainsi qu'à la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale du 25 janvier 1988, telle qu'elle est amendée par le Protocole d'amendement à la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale du 27 mai 2010 (ci-après la « Convention amendée »).

Cet échange automatique de renseignements sera fondé sur l'article 6 de la Convention amendée et sur l'Accord multilatéral entre autorités compétentes concernant l'échange automatique de renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers du 29 octobre 2014 (ci-après I'« AMAC »). En vertu du paragraphe 6 de l'article 28 de la Convention amendée, celle-ci s'applique à l'assistance administrative couvrant les périodes d'imposition qui débutent le 1er janvier, ou après le 1er janvier, de l'année qui suit celle durant laquelle la Convention amendée entrera en vigueur à l'égard d'une Partie ou, en l'absence de période d'imposition, à l'assistance administrative portant sur des obligations fiscales prenant naissance le 1er janvier, ou après le 1er janvier, de l'année qui suit celle durant laquelle la Convention amendée entrera en vigueur à l'égard d'une Partie.

Considérant que le paragraphe 6 de l'article 28 de la Convention amendée prévoit que deux Parties ou plus peuvent convenir que la Convention amendée prendra effet pour ce qui concerne l'assistance administrative portant sur des périodes d'imposition ou obligations fiscales antérieures, j'ai l'honneur de proposer, au nom du Conseil fédéral suisse, que la Suisse et le Canada conviennent que l'article 6 de la Convention amendée et l'AMAC prendront effet relativement aux périodes d'imposition qui débutent le 1er janvier 2017 ou après cette date.

Si la proposition qui précède est jugée acceptable par le Gouvernement du Canada, j'ai l'honneur de proposer que la présente lettre et votre réponse faisant foi de cette acceptation constituent un Accord entre nos deux gouvernements. Cet Accord entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017 ou, si elle est postérieure, à la date à laquelle le Gouvernement du Canada aura notifié au Conseil fédéral suisse l'accomplissement des procédures internes du Canada requises pour son entrée en vigueur. Si l'entrée en vigueur est postérieure au 1er janvier 2017, cet Accord sera appliqué à titre provisoire à compter du 1er janvier 2017.

Veuillez agréer, Excellence, l'assurance de ma haute considération,

Ueli Maurer
Conseiller federal »

J'ai le plaisir de vous informer que le Gouvernement du Canada accepte la proposition contenue dans votre lettre. Le Gouvernement du Canada accepte, de plus, que votre lettre, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, ainsi que la présente réponse, constituent un Accord entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la Suisse, lequel entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017 ou, si elle est postérieure, à la date à laquelle le Gouvernement du Canada aura notifié au Conseil fédéral suisse l'accomplissement des procédures internes du Canada requises pour son entrée en vigueur. Si l'entrée en vigueur est postérieure au 1er janvier 2017, cet Accord sera appliqué à titre provisoire à compter du 1er janvier 2017.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Excellence, l'assurance renouvelée de ma haute considération.

L'honorable William Francis Morneau, C.P., depute