Entry into Force of the Information Exchange Agreement between Canada and the United States


July 2, 2014


The Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) between Canada and the United States for the enhanced exchange of tax information under the Convention between Canada and the United States with Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital entered into force on June 27, 2014. The IGA was signed on February 5, 2014. Legislation to implement the IGA, including related amendments to the Income Tax Act, was set out in Part 5 of Bill C-31, which received Royal Assent on June 19, 2014.

The provisions of the IGA generally have effect in Canada as of July 1, 2014.  These include the requirements, outlined in Annex I of the IGA, for Canadian financial institutions to institute due diligence procedures to identify accounts held by U.S. persons. In compliance with Article 3 of the IGA, reciprocal information exchange between the Canada Revenue Agency and the U.S. Internal Revenue Service will begin by the end of September 2015.

For further information contact:

Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

For information concerning the interpretation and application of the IGA, more information is available on the Canada Revenue Agency's (CRA) website or by contacting the CRA. Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website also has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues for individuals and businesses.

Entrée en vigueur de l’Accord d'échange de renseignements entre le Canada et les États-Unis


Le 2 juillet 2014


L’Accord intergouvernemental (AIG) d’amélioration de l’échange des renseignements fiscaux entre le Canada et les États-Unis en vertu de la Convention fiscale Canada-États-Unis en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune est entré en vigueur le 27 juin 2014. L’AIG a été ratifié le 5 février 2014. Les dispositions législatives de mise en œuvre de l’accord intergouvernemental, qui comprennent notamment des modifications connexes de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, ont été inscrites dans la partie 5 du projet de loi C-31, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 19 juin 2014.

En règle générale, les dispositions de l’AIG entreront en vigueur au Canada à compter du 1er juillet 2014. Elles comprennent les exigences, indiquées à l’annexe I de l’AIG, pour les institutions financières canadiennes d’appliquer des procédures liées à la diligence raisonnable afin de cibler les comptes détenus par des Américains. Conformément à l’article 3 de l’AIG, l’échange de renseignements réciproque entre l’Agence du revenu du Canada et l’Internal Revenue Service des États-Unis commencera d'ici la fin de septembre 2015.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-996-8080

De plus amples renseignements concernant l’interprétation et l’application de l’AIG se trouvent dans le site Web de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) ou peuvent être fournis en communiquant avec cette dernière. Les coordonnées sont indiquées dans le site Web de l'ARC. Le site Web de l’ARC contient également des renseignements sur les conventions fiscales et d’autres renseignements sur les questions fiscales internationales des particuliers et des entreprises.