Protocol Signed Between Canada and the United Kingdom

July 21, 2014

A Protocol amending the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital was signed on July 21, 2014, in London.

The Protocol includes an exemption from withholding tax for payments of interest in respect of loans between persons who are dealing at arm’s length and a revised provision regarding exchange of tax information which reflects the standard developed by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. The Protocol also includes provisions on assistance in the collection of taxes and on arbitration.

Canada and the United Kingdom will notify each other of the completion of their respective procedures which are necessary for the entry into force of the Protocol. The Protocol will enter into force on the date of the later of these notifications and its provisions will have effect in accordance with Article XVI of the Protocol.

A further notice advising of the entry into force of the Protocol will be communicated at that time.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 943-9412

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada’s tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Signature d’un Protocole entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni

Le 21 juillet 2014


Un Protocole modifiant la Convention entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir la fraude fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune a été signé à Londres le 21 juillet 2014.

Le Protocole inclut une exemption de retenue d’impôt sur les intérêts payés entre personnes sans lien de dépendance et une disposition révisée visant l’échange de renseignements qui reflète la norme développée par l’Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques. Le Protocol inclut aussi des dispositions visant l’assistance en matière de recouvrement des impôts et l’arbitrage.

Le Canada et le Royaume-Uni se notifieront mutuellement l’accomplissement de leurs procédures nécessaires pour l’entrée en vigueur du Protocole. Le Protocole entrera en vigueur à la date de la dernière de ces notifications et ses dispositions prendront effet selon les dispositions de l’article XVI du Protocole.

Un avis subséquent faisant état de l’entrée en vigueur du Protocole sera émis à cette occasion.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l’impôt
(613) 943-9412

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l’interprétation et l’application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l’Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l’ARC sur leur site web.  Le site web de l’ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d’autres renseignements concernant fiscalité internationale.