Agreement Concerning the Application of the Arbitration Provisions of the Canada-United Kingdom Tax Convention

November 26, 2015

An Agreement concerning the application of the arbitration provisions of the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital (the “Convention”) was concluded through an exchange of notes dated July 27, 2015 and August 11, 2015.

The Agreement establishes the rules and procedures for the application of the arbitration process under paragraphs 6 and 7 of Article 23 (Mutual Agreement Procedure) of the Convention. The Agreement includes substantive provisions on the decision-making process of the arbitration board, the precedential value of decisions rendered by the board, the type of issues that can be considered by the board, communication to and by the board, confidentiality, time periods and fees.

Canada and the United Kingdom will notify each other of the completion of their respective procedures that are necessary for the entry into force of the Agreement. The Agreement will enter into force and have effect on the date of the later of these notifications. The entry into force of the Agreement will bring into effect the provisions of paragraphs 6 and 7 of Article 23 of the Convention in accordance with the terms of the Agreement.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 369-4081

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada’s tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Accord relatif à l’application des dispositions d’arbitrage de la Convention  fiscale entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni

Le 26 novembre 2015

Un Accord relatif à l’application des dispositions d’arbitrage de la Convention entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir la fraude fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune (la « Convention ») a été conclu par l’entremise d’un échange de lettres datées du 27 juillet 2015 et du 11 août 2015.

L’Accord établit les règles et procédures pour l’application de la procédure d’arbitrage aux paragraphes 6 et 7 de l’article 23 (Procédure amiable) de la Convention. L’Accord comporte des dispositions substantives sur le processus de décision de la commission d’arbitrage, la valeur précédentielle des décisions rendues par la commission, le type de questions pouvant être considérées par la commission, la communication avec et par la commission, les exigences de confidentialité, les délais et les honoraires.

Le Canada et le Royaume-Uni se notifieront mutuellement l’accomplissement de leurs procédures nécessaires pour l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord. L’Accord entrera en vigueur et prendra effet à la date de la dernière de ces notifications. L’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord donnera effet aux dispositions des paragraphes 6 et 7 de l’article 23 de la Convention conformément aux dispositions de l’Accord.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l’impôt
(613) 369-4081

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l'interprétation et l'application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l'Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l'ARC sur leur site web. Le site web de l'ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d'autres renseignements concernant la fiscalité internationale.