Entry into force of the Agreement Concerning the Application of the Arbitration Provisions of the Canada-United Kingdom Tax Convention

February 8, 2017

The Agreement Concerning the Application of the Arbitration Provisions of the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and Capital Gains (the "Agreement") entered into force on December 21, 2016. The Agreement was concluded through an exchange of notes dated July 27, 2015 and August 11, 2015.

The entry into force of this Agreement brings into effect paragraphs 6 and 7 of Article 23 (Mutual Agreement Procedure) of the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and Capital Gains, as amended by Article XII of the Protocol signed at London July 21, 2014.

As set out in the Agreement, for cases that come under consideration of the competent authorities after December 21, 2016, paragraphs 6 and 7 of Article 23 have effect as of December 21, 2016. For cases under consideration of the competent authorities on December 21, 2016, paragraphs 6 and 7 of Article 23 also have effect as of December 21, 2016 except that the three-year period described in paragraph 6 of Article 23 shall begin on the later of December 21, 2016 and the date on which the information necessary to undertake substantive consideration for a mutual agreement has been received by the competent authorities of both Canada and the United Kingdom.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 369-4081

Please visit the Canada Revenue Agency's website for information on tax treaties and other information on international tax issues for business or individuals.

Entrée en vigueur de l'Accord relatif à l'application des dispositions d'arbitrage de la Convention fiscale entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni

Le 8 février 2017

L'Accord relatif à l'application des dispositions d'arbitrage de la Convention entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et les gains en capital (l' « Accord ») est entré en vigueur le 21 décembre 2016. L'Accord a été conclu par l'entremise d'un échange de lettres datées du 27 juillet 2015 et du 11 août 2015.

L'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord donne effet aux paragraphes 6 et 7 de l'article 23 (Procédure amiable) de la Convention entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et les gains en capital, modifié par l'article XII du Protocole signé à Londres le 21 juillet 2014.

Tel qu'il est énoncé dans l'Accord, pour des affaires soumisses à l'examen des autorités compétentes après le 21 décembre 2016, les dispositions des paragraphes 6 et 7 de l'article 23 prennent effet à compter du 21 décembre 2016. À l'égard des affaires qui font l'objet d'un examen le 21 décembre 2016, les paragraphes 6 et 7 de l'Article 23 prennent également effet le 21 décembre 2016. Toutefois, pour des affaires qui font l'objet d'un examen le 21 décembre 2016, le début de la période de trois ans visée au paragraphe 6 de l'article 23 correspond au 21 décembre 2016 ou, si elle est postérieure, à la date à laquelle les autorités compétentes des deux États contractants ont reçu les renseignements requis pour lancer un examen approfondi en vue d'un accord amiable.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l'impôt
613-369-4081

Veuillez visiter le site web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada pour des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et d'autres renseignements concernant la fiscalité internationale pour les entreprises ou les particuliers.