Exchange of Notes Concerning the Automatic Exchange of Information between Canada and Switzerland

December 23, 2016

The Minister of Finance, the Honourable Bill Morneau, and His Excellency, Ueli Maurer, Federal Councillor, concluded through an exchange of notes dated December 22 and December 9, 2016 an agreement (“Agreement”) between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Swiss Confederation under the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters as amended by the 2010 Protocol (“Convention”). The Convention, developed jointly by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (“OECD”) and the Council of Europe, is a multilateral Convention, open to all countries, whose purpose is to improve international tax cooperation between the tax authorities of countries that are a party to it, with a view to combating international tax avoidance and evasion.

The Agreement provides that the Convention will have effect for administrative assistance between Canada and Switzerland in relation to taxation periods beginning on or after January 1, 2017. This is one year earlier than would have been the case without the Agreement. The Agreement provides the legal basis for the automatic exchange of information for tax purposes based on the OECD/G20 Common Reporting Standard.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
613 369 4081

Please visit the OECD’s web page for information regarding the Convention. Please visit the Canada Revenue Agency’s website for information regarding the interpretation and application of Canada’s tax treaties and regarding the Common Reporting Standard.

Échange de notes diplomatiques concernant l’échange automatique de renseignements entre le Canada et la Suisse

23 décembre 2016

Le ministre des Finances, l’honorable Bill Morneau, et Son Excellence Ueli Maurer, conseiller fédéral, ont conclu, par l’entremise d’un échange de notes diplomatiques du 22 décembre et du 9 décembre 2016, un accord (l’« Accord ») entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Confédération suisse en vertu de la Convention concernant l’assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale, telle qu’elle est amendée par le Protocole de 2010 (la « Convention »). La Convention, élaborée conjointement par l’Organisation économique de coopération et de développement économiques (« OCDE ») et le Conseil de l’Europe, est un accord multilatéral, ouvert à tous les pays, dont le but est l’amélioration de la coopération entre les administrations fiscales des pays qui sont Parties à la Convention, en vue de combattre l’évitement fiscal et l’évasion fiscale à l’échelle internationale.

Aux termes de l’Accord, la Convention prendra effet relativement à l’assistance administrative entre le Canada et la Suisse pour les périodes d’imposition qui débutent le 1er janvier 2017 ou après cette date. Ainsi, la Convention entrera en vigueur un an plus tôt que si l’Accord n’avait pas été conclue. L’Accord est la base juridique de l’échange automatique de renseignements à des fins fiscales fondé sur la norme commune de déclaration élaborée par l’OCDE/G20.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l’impôt
613 369 4081

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant la Convention, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’OCDE. Veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Agence du revenu du Canada pour des renseignements concernant l'interprétation et l'application des conventions fiscales et concernant la norme commune de déclaration.