Second Protocol Signed Between Canada and New Zealand

September 23, 2014

A Second Protocol to the Convention between New Zealand and Canada for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income (the "Convention") was signed in Wellington on 12 September 2014.

The Second Protocol provides an exclusive right to tax to New Zealand in respect of pensions paid by, or out of funds created by, the Government of New Zealand or a political subdivision thereof to any individual in respect of services rendered to the Government of New Zealand or subdivision thereof. This exclusive right to tax applies only to pensions paid under a Government Superannuation Fund scheme or a National Provident Fund scheme to individuals who became members of one of these schemes prior to 1996.

Canada and New Zealand will notify each other of the completion of their respective domestic procedures which are necessary to give force of law to the Second Protocol. The Second Protocol will enter into force on the date of the later of these notifications and its provisions will have effect from the date the Convention and the First Protocol enter into force.

The Convention and the First Protocol can be found on the department’s website.

A further notice advising of the entry into force of the Second Protocol will be communicated at that time.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 369-3675

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada's tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Signature d'un Deuxième Protocole entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande

Le 23 septembre 2014

Un Deuxième Protocole à la Convention entre la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada en vue d'éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu (ci-après, la « Convention ») a été signé à Wellington le 12 septembre 2014.

Le Deuxième Protocole confère un droit exclusif d'imposition à la Nouvelle-Zélande à l'égard des pensions payées par le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande ou l'une de ses subdivisions politiques, soit directement ou par prélèvement sur des fonds qu'ils ont constitués, à une personne physique au titre de services rendus au gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande ou à l'une de ses subdivisions. Ce droit exclusif d'imposition ne s'applique qu'aux pensions payées dans le cadre d'un régime d'une caisse de retraite gouvernementale (Superannuation Fund) ou d'un régime d'une caisse nationale de prévoyance (National Provident Fund) à des personnes physiques qui ont commencé à participer à l'un de ces régimes avant 1996.

Le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande se notifieront mutuellement l'accomplissement de leurs procédures domestiques nécessaires pour donner force de loi au Deuxième Protocole. Le Deuxième Protocole entrera en vigueur à la date de la dernière de ces notifications et ses dispositions prendront effet à compter de la date d'entrée en vigueur de la Convention et du Premier Protocole.

La Convention et le Premier Protocole peuvent être consultés sur le site Web du ministère.

Un avis subséquent faisant état de l'entrée en vigueur du Deuxième Protocole sera émis à cette occasion.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l'impôt
Téléphone : (613) 369-3675

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l'interprétation et l'application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l'Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l'ARC sur leur site web. Le site web de l'ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d'autres renseignements concernant fiscalité internationale.