Entry into Force of the New Tax Convention and Related Protocols between Canada and New Zealand

June 26, 2015


The new Convention between Canada and New Zealand for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income, and related protocols, entered into force on June 26, 2015. The new Convention and its First Protocol were signed on May 3, 2012. The Second Protocol was signed on September 12, 2014.

In accordance with Article 28 of the new Convention, the provisions of the new Convention and its related protocols generally have effect in Canada: in respect of tax withheld at the source on amounts paid or credited to non-residents, on or after the first day of August 2015; and in respect of other Canadian tax, for taxation years beginning on or after the first day of January 2016.

The new Convention replaces the tax convention signed on May 13, 1980.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 369-3682

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada’s tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Convention fiscale et des protocoles associés entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande

Le 26 juin 2015


La nouvelle Convention entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l’évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu, ainsi que les protocoles qui lui sont associés, sont entrés en vigueur le 26 juin 2015. La nouvelle Convention et son Premier Protocole ont été signés le 3 mai 2012. Le Deuxième Protocole a été signé le 12 septembre 2014.

Conformément à l’article 28 de la nouvelle Convention, les dispositions de la nouvelle Convention et des protocoles qui lui sont associés sont généralement applicables au Canada, à l’égard de l’impôt retenu à la source sur les montants payées à des non-résidents, ou portés à leur crédit, le ou après le 1er août 2015; et, à l’égard des autres impôts canadiens, pour toute année d’imposition commençant le ou après le 1er janvier 2016.

La nouvelle Convention remplace la convention fiscale signée le 13 mai 1980.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l’impôt
(613) 369-3682

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l’interprétation et l’application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l’Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l’ARC sur leur site web. Le site web de l’ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d’autres renseignements concernant la fiscalité internationale.