Tax Convention Signed Between Canada and Madagascar

December 1st, 2016

A Convention between Canada and the Republic of Madagascar for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income was signed in Antananarivo on November 24, 2016.

The Convention limits the rate of withholding tax to 5% for dividends paid to a company that holds directly or indirectly at least 25% of the voting power of the company that pays the dividends, to 15% for dividends paid in all other cases, and to 10% for payments of interest and royalties. The Convention also exempts from withholding tax certain payments of interest and limits the rate of withholding tax to 5% on certain payments of royalties.

The Convention includes provisions reflecting the standard developed by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development for the exchange of information for tax purposes.

The Convention will enter into force once Canada and the Republic of Madagascar have notified each other that the procedures required by their laws for the bringing into force of the Convention have been completed. The Convention will have effect in accordance with Article 28 of the Convention.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 369-4081

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada’s tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Signature de la convention fiscale entre le Canada et Madagascar

Le 1er décembre 2016

Une Convention fiscale entre le Canada et la République de Madagascar en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu a été signée à Antananarivo le 24 novembre 2016.

La Convention limite le taux de l'impôt retenu à la source à 5 % dans le cas des dividendes payés à une société qui détient directement ou indirectement au moins 25 % des droits de vote de la société qui paie les dividendes, à 15 % dans le cas des autres dividendes, et à 10 % dans le cas des paiements d’intérêts et de redevances. La Convention exempte également certains types de paiements d’intérêts et limite le taux de l’impôt retenu à la source à 5 % dans le cas de certains paiements de redevances.

La Convention inclut des dispositions qui reflètent la norme développée par l'Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques en matière d'échange de renseignements fiscaux.

La Convention entrera en vigueur dès que le Canada et la République de Madagascar se seront notifiés l'accomplissement des mesures requises par leur droit pour l’entrée en vigueur de la Convention. La Convention prendra effet conformément à l’Article 28 de la Convention.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l'impôt
(613) 369-4081

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l'interprétation et l'application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l'Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l'ARC sur leur site web. Le site web de l'ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d'autres renseignements concernant fiscalité internationale.