Ratification of the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters

November 21, 2013

The Government of Canada today ratified the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, done at Strasbourg on 25 January 1988, as amended by the Protocol amending the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, done at Paris on 27 May 2010 (collectively, the "Convention"). Canada signed the original convention on April 28, 2004 and the Protocol thereto on November 3, 2011. The Convention will enter into force, in respect of Canada, on March 1, 2014, and will have effect in accordance with Article 28 of the Convention.

The Convention, developed jointly by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and the Council of Europe, is a multilateral instrument, open to all countries, whose purpose is to improve international tax co-operation between the taxation authorities of countries that are a Party to the Convention, with a view to combating international tax avoidance and evasion. In Canada, the Convention will apply to Canadian taxes that fall under the Income Tax Act, Excise Tax Act, and the Excise Act, 2001.

Under the Convention, Canada will exchange tax information pursuant to the OECD standard with other Parties to the Convention. Pursuant to reservations, Canada will not under the Convention be obligated to collect taxes on behalf of another country, or provide assistance in the service of related documents. Canada will instead continue to negotiate a provision on assistance in the collection of taxes on a bilateral basis, and has agreed to include such a provision in certain of its bilateral tax treaties.

Further information about the Convention is available on the OECD website.

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 943-9412

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada's tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Ratification de la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale

21 novembre 2013

Aujourd'hui, le gouvernement du Canada a ratifié la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale faite à Strasbourg le 25 janvier 1988, et le Protocole d'amendement à la Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale faite à Paris le 27 mai 2010 (collectivement désignés la « Convention  »). Le Canada a signé la convention d'origine le 28 avril 2004 et le Protocole s'y rapportant le 3 novembre 2011. La Convention entrera en vigueur, à l'égard du Canada, le 1 mars 2014, et ses dispositions seront applicables conformément à l'Article 28 de la Convention.

La Convention, développée conjointement par l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et le Conseil de l'Europe, est un instrument multilatéral, ouvert à tous les pays, dont le but est l'amélioration de la coopération fiscale entre les autorités fiscales des pays qui sont Parties à la Convention, en vue de combattre la fraude et l'évasion fiscale. Au Canada, la Convention s'appliquera aux impôts canadiens qui relèvent de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, la Loi sur la taxe d'accise et la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise.

En vertu de la Convention, le Canada échangera des renseignements fiscaux conformément à la norme de l'OCDE avec les autres Parties à la Convention. Conformément aux réserves, le Canada ne sera pas, en vertu de la Convention, tenu de percevoir les impôts au nom d'un autre pays, ou à fournir une assistance au service des documents connexes. Le Canada continuera de négocier une disposition sur l'assistance en matière de recouvrement des impôts sur une base bilatérale, et a déjà accepté d'inclure une telle disposition dans certaines de ses conventions fiscales bilatérales.

De plus amples renseignements concernant la Convention est disponible sur le site Web de l'OCDE.

Division de la législation de l'impôt
(613) 943-9412

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l'interprétation et l'application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l'Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l'ARC sur leur site web.  Le site web de l'ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d'autres renseignements concernant fiscalité internationale.