Tax Convention Signed Between Canada and the State of Israel

September 23, 2016

A new Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the State of Israel for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income was signed in New York on September 21, 2016.

The new Convention limits the rate of withholding tax to 5% for dividends paid to a company that holds directly or indirectly at least 25% of the capital of the company that pays the dividends, to 15% for dividends paid in all other cases, and to 10% for payments of interest and royalties. The new Convention also exempts from withholding tax certain payments of interest and royalties.

The new Convention includes provisions reflecting the standard developed by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development for the exchange of information for tax purposes.

The new Convention will enter into force once Canada and the State of Israel have notified each other that the procedures required by their laws for the bringing into force of the Convention have been completed. The new Convention will have effect in accordance with Article 28 of the Convention.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 369-4081

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada's tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Signature de la convention fiscale entre le Canada et l'État d'Israël

le 23 septembre 2016

Une nouvelle Convention fiscale entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de l'État d'Israël en vue d'éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu a été signé à New York le 21 septembre 2016.

La nouvelle Convention limite le taux de l'impôt retenu à la source à 5 % dans le cas des dividendes payés à une société qui détient directement ou indirectement au moins 25 % du capital de la société qui paie les dividendes, à 15 % dans le cas des autres dividendes, et à 10 % dans le cas des paiements d'intérêts et de redevances. La nouvelle Convention exempte également certains types de paiements d'intérêts et de redevances de la retenue d'impôt à la source.

La nouvelle Convention inclut des dispositions qui reflètent la norme développée par l'Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques en matière d'échange de renseignements fiscaux.

La nouvelle Convention entrera en vigueur dès que le Canada et l'État d'Israël se seront notifiés l'accomplissement des mesures requises par leur droit pour l'entrée en vigueur de la Convention. La nouvelle Convention prendra effet conformément à l'Article 28 de la Convention.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l'impôt
(613) 369-4081

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l'interprétation et l'application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l'Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l'ARC sur leur site web. Le site web de l'ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d'autres renseignements concernant fiscalité internationale.