Protocol Signed Between Canada and Barbados

November 8, 2011


 

 

A Protocol amending the Agreement between Canada and Barbados for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, signed on January 22, 1980, was signed on November 8, 2011, in Bridgetown.

Consistent with the Government’s policy announced in Budget 2007, the Protocol includes provisions reflecting the standard developed by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development for the exchange of tax information.

Canada and Barbados will notify each other once their respective domestic implementation procedures are complete. The Protocol will enter into force on the date of the later of these notifications and its provisions will have effect in accordance with Article 6 of the Protocol.

A further notice advising of the entry into force of the Protocol will be communicated at that time.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: 613-369-4016

Signature d’un Protocole entre le Canada et la Barbade

Le 8 novembre 2011


 

 

Un Protocole amendant l’Accord entre le Canada et la Barbade tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l’évasion fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune signé le 22 janvier 1980, a été signé à Bridgetown le 8 novembre 2011.

Conformément à la politique énoncée par le gouvernement dans le Budget 2007, le Protocole inclut les dispositions qui reflètent la norme développée par l’Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques en matière d’échange de renseignements fiscaux.

Le Canada et la Barbade se notifieront mutuellement l’accomplissement de leurs procédures internes de mise en œuvre respectives. Le Protocole entrera en vigueur à la date de la dernière de ces notifications et ses dispositions prendront effet selon l’Article 6 du Protocole.

Un avis subséquent faisant état de l’entrée en vigueur du Protocole sera émis à cette occasion.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Division de la législation de l'impôt
No de téléphone : 613-369-4016