Tax Convention Signed Between Canada and Azerbaijan

September 13, 2004


A Convention between Canada and Azerbaijan for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income and on capital was signed on September 7, 2004, in Baku.

The Convention limits the rate of withholding tax to 10% for dividends between affiliated companies, 15% for dividends in all other cases, 10% for interest, 5% for royalties regarding computer software, patents, or information concerning industrial, commercial or scientific experience, and 10% for royalties in all other cases.

The Convention will enter into force once Canada and Azerbaijan have notified each other that all the necessary measures to give the Convention the force of law in their respective countries have been completed. The Convention will have effect, in respect of tax withheld at source on amounts paid or credited to non-residents, as of the beginning of the first calendar year following that in which the Convention enters into force; and, in respect of other taxes, for taxation years beginning after the calendar year in which the Convention enters into force.

For further information contact:

David Senégal
Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 947-9860

Signature de la Convention fiscale entre le Canada et l'Azerbaïdjan

le 13 septembre 2004


La Convention entre le Canada et l'Azerbaïdjan en vue d'éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune a été signée à Baku le 7 septembre 2004.

La convention limite le taux de l'impôt retenu à la source à 10 % dans le cas des dividendes entre sociétés affiliées, à 15 % dans le cas des autres dividendes, à 10 % dans le cas des intérêts, à 5 % dans le cas des redevances pour l'exploitation de logiciels, de brevets et d'information ayant trait à une expérience acquise dans le domaine industriel, commercial ou scientifique, et à 10 % dans le cas des autres redevances.

La convention entrera en vigueur lorsque le Canada et l'Azerbaïdjan se seront notifiés l'accomplissement de toutes les mesures requises pour donner force de loi à la convention dans leur pays respectif. Elle s'appliquera, pour ce qui est de l'impôt retenu à la source sur les montants payés à des non-résidents, ou portés à leur crédit, à compter du début de la première année civile suivant celle de son entrée en vigueur et, pour ce qui est des autres impôts, aux années d'imposition commençant après l'année de son entrée en vigueur.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

David Senécal
Division de la législation de l'impôt
No de téléphone : (613) 947-9860