Agreement between the government of Canada and the government of Jersey, under entrustment from the government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, for the exchange of information relating to tax matters


This electronic version is provided for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction.


WHEREAS THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA (Canada) and THE GOVERNMENT OF JERSEY (Jersey) wish to enhance and facilitate the terms and conditions governing the exchange of information relating to tax matters,

WHEREAS the Government of the United Kingdom has issued a letter of entrustment to the Government of Jersey to negotiate, and conclude an agreement for the exchange of information on tax matters with the Government of Canada,

NOW, THEREFORE, Canada and Jersey (“the Parties”) have agreed as follows:

ARTICLE 1

Object and Scope of this Agreement

The Parties shall provide assistance through exchange of information that is foreseeably relevant to the administration and enforcement of the domestic laws of the Parties concerning the taxes covered by this Agreement, including information that is foreseeably relevant to the determination, assessment, enforcement and collection of tax with respect to persons subject to such taxes, the investigation of tax matters or the prosecution of tax matters in relation to such persons. A requested Party is not obliged to provide information which is neither held by its authorities nor in the possession of nor obtainable by persons who are within its territorial jurisdiction. The rights and safeguards secured to persons by the laws or administrative practice of the requested Party remain applicable to the extent that they do not unduly prevent or delay effective exchange of information.

ARTICLE 2

Taxes Covered

1. This Agreement shall apply to the following taxes imposed by the Parties:

(a) in the case of Canada, taxes on income or capital imposed or administered by the Government of Canada;

(b) in the case of Jersey, taxes on income and the goods and services tax.

2. This Agreement shall apply also to any identical taxes imposed after the date of signature of this Agreement in addition to or in place of the existing taxes, or any substantially similar taxes if the Parties so agree in an exchange of letters. The competent authority of each Party shall notify the other of substantial changes in laws which may affect the obligations of that Party pursuant to this Agreement.

ARTICLE 3

Definitions

1. In this Agreement:

(a) “Canada”, used in a geographical sense, means:

(i) the land territory, air space, internal waters and territorial sea of Canada;

(ii) the exclusive economic zone of Canada, as determined by its domestic law, consistent with Part V of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982 (UNCLOS); and

(iii) the continental shelf of Canada, as determined by its domestic law, consistent with Part VI of UNCLOS;

(b) “Jersey” means the Bailiwick of Jersey, including its territorial sea;

(c) “collective investment fund or scheme” means any pooled investment vehicle, irrespective of legal form. The term “public collective investment fund or scheme” means any collective investment fund or scheme provided the units, shares or other interests in the fund or scheme can be readily purchased and sold, or readily purchased and redeemed, by the public. Units, shares or other interests in the fund or scheme can be readily purchased, sold or redeemed “by the public” if the purchase, sale or redemption is not implicitly or explicitly restricted to a limited group of investors;

(d) “company” means any body corporate or any entity that is treated as a body corporate for tax purposes;

(e) “competent authority” means:

(i) in the case of Canada, the Minister of National Revenue or the Minister’s authorised representative;

(ii) in the case of Jersey, the Treasury and Resources Minister or the Minister’s authorised representative;

(f) “information” means any fact, statement, document or record in whatever form;

(g) “information gathering measures” means laws and administrative or judicial procedures enabling a requested Party to obtain and provide the information requested;

(h) “person” includes a natural person, a company, a trust, a partnership or any other body or group of persons;

(i) “principal class of shares” means the class or classes of shares representing a majority of the voting power and value of the company;

(j) “publicly traded company” means any company whose principal class of shares is listed on a recognised stock exchange provided that its listed shares can be readily purchased and sold by the public. Shares can be purchased or sold “by the public” if the purchase or sale of shares is not implicitly or explicitly restricted to a limited group of investors;

(k) “recognised stock exchange” means any stock exchange agreed upon by the competent authorities of the Parties;

(l) “requested Party” means the Party to this Agreement which is requested to provide or has provided information in response to a request;

(m) “requesting Party” means the Party to this Agreement submitting a request for or having received information from the requested Party; and

(n) “tax” means any tax covered by this Agreement.

2. As regards the application of this Agreement at any time by a Party, any term not defined therein shall, unless the context otherwise requires, have the meaning that it has at that time under the laws of that Party, any meaning under the applicable tax laws of that Party prevailing over a meaning given to the term under other laws of that Party.

ARTICLE 4 

Exchange of Information upon Request

1. The competent authority of the requested Party shall provide upon request by the requesting Party information for the purposes referred to in Article 1. Such information shall be exchanged without regard to whether the requested Party needs such information for its own tax purposes or the conduct being investigated would constitute a crime under the laws of the requested Party if it had occurred in the territory of the requested Party. The competent authority of the requesting Party shall make a request for information pursuant to this Article only when it is unable to obtain the requested information by other means, except where recourse to such means would give rise to disproportionate difficulty.

2. If the information in the possession of the competent authority of the requested Party is not sufficient to enable it to comply with the request for information, the requested Party shall use all relevant information gathering measures necessary to provide the requesting Party with the information requested, notwithstanding that the requested Party may not, at that time, need such information for its own tax purposes.

3. If specifically requested by the competent authority of the requesting Party, the competent authority of the requested Party shall provide information under this Article, to the extent allowable under its domestic laws, in the form of depositions of witnesses and authenticated copies of original records.

4. Each Party shall ensure that it has the authority, for the purposes specified in Article 1, to obtain and provide, through its competent authority and upon request:

(a) information held by banks, other financial institutions, and any person, including nominees and trustees, acting in an agency or fiduciary capacity;

(b)

(i) information regarding the legal and beneficial ownership of companies, partnerships, “Anstalten” and other persons, including, within the constraints of Article 2, ownership information on all such persons in an ownership chain and in the case of collective investment schemes, information on shares, units and other interests;

(ii) in the case of trusts, information on settlors, trustees, protectors and beneficiaries;

(iii) in the case of foundations, information on founders, members of the foundation council and beneficiaries;

provided that this Agreement does not create an obligation for a Party to obtain or provide ownership information with respect to publicly traded companies or public collective investment schemes, unless such information can be obtained without giving rise to disproportionate difficulties.

5. Any request for information shall be formulated with the greatest detail possible and shall specify in writing:

(a) the identity of the person under examination or investigation;

(b) the period for which the information is requested;

(c) the nature of the information requested and the form in which the requesting Party would prefer to receive it;

(d) the tax purpose for which the information is sought;

(e) the reasons for believing that the information requested is foreseeably relevant to tax administration and enforcement of the requesting Party, with respect to the person identified in subparagraph (a) of this paragraph;

(f) grounds for believing that the information requested is held in the territory of the requested Party or is in the possession of or obtainable by a person within the jurisdiction of the requested Party;

(g) to the extent known, the name and address of any person believed to be in possession of or able to obtain the requested information;

(h) a statement that the request is in conformity with the laws and administrative practices of the requesting Party, that if the requested information was within the jurisdiction of the requesting Party then the competent authority of the requesting Party would be able to obtain the information under the laws of the requesting Party or in the normal course of administrative practice and that it is in conformity with this Agreement; and

(i) a statement that the requesting Party has pursued all means available in its own territory to obtain the information, except where that would give rise to disproportionate difficulty.

6. The competent authority of the requested Party shall acknowledge receipt of the request of the competent authority of the requesting Party and shall use its best endeavours to forward the requested information to the requesting Party with the least possible delay.

ARTICLE 5

Tax Investigations Abroad

1. With reasonable notice, the requesting Party may request that the requested Party allow representatives of the competent authority of the requesting Party to enter the territory of the requested Party, to the extent permitted under its domestic laws, to interview individuals and examine records with the prior written consent of the individuals or other persons concerned. The competent authority of the requesting Party shall notify the competent authority of the requested Party of the time and place of the intended meeting with the individuals concerned.

2. At the request of the competent authority of the requesting Party, the competent authority of the requested Party may permit representatives of the competent authority of the requesting Party to attend a tax examination in the territory of the requested Party.

3. If the request referred to in paragraph 2 is granted, the competent authority of the requested Party conducting the examination shall, as soon as possible, notify the competent authority of the requesting Party of the time and place of the examination, the authority or person authorised to carry out the examination and the procedures and conditions required by the requested Party for the conduct of the examination. All decisions regarding the conduct of the examination shall be made by the requested Party conducting the examination.

ARTICLE 6

Possibility of Declining a Request

1. The competent authority of the requested Party may decline to assist:

(a) where the request is not made in conformity with this Agreement;

(b) where the requesting Party has not pursued all means available in its own territory to obtain the information, except where recourse to such means would give rise to disproportionate difficulty; or

(c) where the disclosure of the information requested would be contrary to the public policy (ordre public) of the requested Party.

2. This Agreement shall not impose upon a requested Party any obligation to provide documents or records which are:

(a) in the case of Jersey, subject to legal privilege, or in the case of Canada, subject to solicitor-client privilege;

(b) subject to any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process, provided that information described in Article 4, paragraph 4, shall not by reason of that fact alone be treated as such a secret or trade process.

3. A request for information shall not be refused on the ground that the tax claim giving rise to the request is disputed.

4. The requested Party shall not be required to obtain and provide information which, if the requested information was within the jurisdiction of the requesting Party, the competent authority of the requesting Party would not be able to obtain under its laws or in the normal course of administrative practice.

5. The requested Party may decline a request for information if the information is requested by the requesting Party to administer or enforce a provision of the tax law of the requesting Party, or any requirement connected therewith, which discriminates against a national or citizen of the requested Party as compared with a national or citizen of the requesting Party in the same circumstances.

ARTICLE 7 

Confidentiality

1. All information provided and received by the competent authorities of the Parties shall be treated as confidential.

2. Such information may be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) concerned with the purposes specified in Article 1, and used by such persons or authorities only for such purposes, including the determination of any appeal. For these purposes, information may be disclosed in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions.

3. Such information may not be used for any purpose other than for the purposes stated in Article 1 without the expressed written consent of the competent authority of the requested Party.

4. The information provided to a requesting Party under this Agreement may not be disclosed to any other jurisdiction.

ARTICLE 8 

Costs

Unless the competent authorities of the Parties otherwise agree, ordinary costs incurred in providing assistance shall be borne by the requested Party, and extraordinary costs incurred in providing assistance (including costs of engaging external advisers in connection with litigation or otherwise) shall be borne by the requesting Party. The respective competent authorities shall consult from time to time with regard to this Article, and in particular the competent authority of the requested Party shall consult with the competent authority of the requesting Party in advance if the costs of providing information with respect to a specific request are expected to be significant.

ARTICLE 9 

Other International Agreements or Arrangements

The possibilities of assistance provided by this Agreement do not limit, nor are they limited by, those contained in existing international agreements or other arrangements between the Parties which relate to co-operation in tax matters.

ARTICLE 10 

Implementation Legislation

The Parties shall enact any legislation necessary to comply with, and give effect to, the terms of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 11 

Mutual Agreement Procedures

1. Where difficulties or doubts arise between the Parties regarding the implementation or interpretation of this Agreement, the competent authorities shall endeavour to resolve the matter by mutual agreement.

2. In addition to the agreements referred to in paragraph 1, the competent authorities of the Parties may mutually agree on the procedures to be used under Articles 4, 5 and 8.

3. The competent authorities of the Parties may communicate with each other directly for purposes of reaching agreement under this Article.

4. The Parties shall agree on other forms of dispute resolution should this become necessary.

ARTICLE 12 

Entry into Force

This Agreement shall enter into force on the date of the later written notification by which each Party has notified the other of the completion of its necessary internal procedures for entry into force. Upon the date of entry into force, it shall have effect:

(a) for tax matters involving intentional conduct which is liable to prosecution under the criminal laws of the applicant Party (irrespective of whether contained in the tax laws, the criminal code or other statutes), on that date; and

(b) for all other matters covered in Article 1 on that date, but only in respect of taxable periods beginning on or after that date or, where there is no taxable period, all charges to tax arising on or after that date.

ARTICLE 13

Termination

1. This Agreement shall remain in force until terminated by a Party.

2. A Party may terminate this Agreement by giving notice of termination in writing. Such termination shall become effective on the first day of the month following the expiration of a period of six months after the date of the notice of termination. All requests received up to the effective date of termination will be dealt with in accordance with the terms of this Agreement.

3. If this Agreement is terminated the Parties shall remain bound by the provisions of Article 7 with respect to any information obtained under this Agreement.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorised in thereto by the respective Parties, have signed this Agreement.

DONE in duplicate at St. Helier , this 12th day of January 2011, in the English and French languages, each version being equally authentic.

James Wright
____________________________
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Terence Augustine Le Sueur
____________________________
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF JERSEY

Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de Jersey, agissant en vertu d’un mandat du gouvernement du Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du nord, sur l’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale


Cette version électronique n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle.


ATTENDU QUE LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA (Canada) et LE GOUVERNEMENT DE JERSEY (Jersey) souhaitent améliorer et faciliter l’application des modalités régissant l’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale,

ATTENDU QUE le gouvernement de Jersey a reçu du gouvernement du Royaume-Uni une lettre lui confiant le mandat de négocier et de conclure un accord sur l’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale avec le gouvernement du Canada,

À CES CAUSES, Canada et Jersey ( « les parties ») sont convenus des dispositions suivantes :

ARTICLE PREMIER

Objet et champ d’application du présent accord

Les parties s’accordent une assistance par l’échange de renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour l’administration et l’application de la législation interne des parties relative aux impôts visés par le présent accord, y compris les renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour la détermination, l’établissement, l’exécution et la perception de ces impôts à l’égard des personnes y assujetties ou pour les enquêtes ou les poursuites en matière fiscale à l’encontre de ces personnes. La partie requise n’est pas tenue de fournir des renseignements qui ne sont ni détenus par ses autorités ni en la possession de personnes relevant de sa compétence territoriale ou qui ne peuvent être obtenus de telles personnes. Les droits et protections dont bénéficient les personnes en vertu des dispositions législatives ou réglementaires ou des pratiques administratives de la partie requise restent applicables dans la mesure où ils n’entravent ou ne retardent pas indûment un échange effectif de renseignements.

ARTICLE 2

Impôts visés

1. Le présent accord s’applique aux impôts suivants établis par les parties :

a) dans le cas du Canada, les impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune établis ou administrés par le gouvernement du Canada;

b) dans le cas de Jersey, les impôts sur le revenu et la taxe sur les produits et services.

2. Le présent accord s’applique aussi aux impôts identiques qui seraient établis après la date de signature du présent accord et qui s’ajouteraient aux impôts existants ou les remplaceraient, ainsi qu’aux impôts analogues dont peuvent convenir les parties dans un échange de lettres. Les autorités compétentes des parties se notifient toute modification législative substantielle pouvant avoir une incidence sur les obligations des parties prévues par le présent accord.

ARTICLE 3

Définitions

1. Aux fins du présent accord :

a) « Canada », employé dans un sens géographique, désigne :

i)  le territoire terrestre, l’espace aérien, les eaux intérieures et la mer territoriale du Canada,

ii) la zone économique exclusive du Canada, telle qu’elle est définie par son droit interne, en conformité avec la partie V de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer du 10 décembre 1982 (UNCLOS),

iii) le plateau continental du Canada, tel qu’il est défini par son droit interne, en conformité avec la partie VI de l’UNCLOS;

b) « Jersey » désigne le Bailliage de Jersey, y compris sa mer territoriale;

c) « fonds ou dispositif de placement collectif » signifie tout instrument de placement groupé, quelle que soit sa forme juridique. L’expression « fonds ou dispositif de placement collectif public » signifie tout fonds ou dispositif de placement collectif dont les parts, actions ou autres participations peuvent être facilement achetées et vendues, ou achetées et rachetées, par le public. Les parts, actions ou autres participations peuvent être facilement achetées, vendues ou rachetées « par le public » si l’achat, la vente ou le rachat n’est pas implicitement ou explicitement restreint à un groupe limité d’investisseurs;

d) « société » signifie toute personne morale ou toute entité considérée fiscalement comme une personne morale;

e) « autorité compétente » signifie :

i)  dans le cas du Canada, le ministre du Revenu national ou son représentant autorisé,

ii) dans le cas de Jersey, le ministre du Trésor et des Ressources ou son représentant autorisé;

f) « renseignement » désigne tout fait, énoncé ou document, quelle que soit sa forme;

g) « mesures de collecte de renseignements » signifie les dispositions législatives et réglementaires ainsi que les procédures administratives ou judiciaires qui permettent à la partie requise d’obtenir et de fournir les renseignements demandés;

h) « personne » inclut une personne physique, une société, une fiducie, une société de personnes et toute autre entité ou tout autre groupement de personnes;

i)  « catégorie principale d’actions » signifie la ou les catégories d’actions représentant la majorité des droits de vote et de la valeur de la société;

j)  « société cotée » signifie toute société dont la catégorie principale d’actions est cotée sur une bourse reconnue, les actions cotées de la société devant pouvoir être achetées et vendues facilement par le public. Les actions peuvent être achetées ou vendues « par le public » si l’achat ou la vente des actions n’est pas implicitement ou explicitement restreint à un groupe limité d’investisseurs;

k) « bourse reconnue » signifie toute bourse déterminée d’un commun accord par les autorités compétentes des parties;

l)  « partie requise » signifie la partie au présent accord à laquelle on demande de fournir des renseignements ou qui a fourni des renseignements en réponse à une demande;

m) « partie requérante » signifie la partie au présent accord qui demande des renseignements à la partie requise ou qui a reçu des renseignements de cette dernière;

n) « impôt » signifie tout impôt visé par le présent accord.

2. Pour l’application du présent accord à un moment donné par une partie, tout terme ou toute expression qui n’y est pas défini a, sauf si le contexte exige une interprétation différente, le sens que lui attribue à ce moment le droit de cette partie, le sens attribué à ce terme ou à cette expression par le droit fiscal applicable de cette partie prévalant sur le sens que lui attribuent les autres branches du droit de cette partie.

ARTICLE 4

Échange de renseignements sur demande

1. L’autorité compétente de la partie requise fournit, sur demande de la partie requérante, des renseignements aux fins visées à l’article premier. Ces renseignements doivent être échangés indépendamment du fait que la partie requise ait ou non besoin de ces renseignements à ses propres fins fiscales ou que l’acte faisant l’objet de l’enquête aurait constitué une infraction pénale selon le droit de la partie requise s’il s’était produit sur le territoire de cette partie. L’autorité compétente de la partie requérante ne présente une demande de renseignements conformément au présent article que si elle n’est pas en mesure d’obtenir les renseignements par d’autres moyens, sauf ceux qui susciteraient des difficultés disproportionnées.

2. Si les renseignements en la possession de l’autorité compétente de la partie requise ne sont pas suffisants pour lui permettre de donner suite à la demande de renseignements, cette partie prend toutes les mesures de collecte des renseignements adéquates qui sont nécessaires pour fournir à la partie requérante les renseignements demandés, même si la partie requise n’a pas besoin, à ce moment-là, de ces renseignements à ses propres fins fiscales.

3. Sur demande spécifique de l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante, l’autorité compétente de la partie requise fournit les renseignements visés au présent article, dans la mesure où son droit interne le lui permet, sous la forme de dépositions de témoins et de copies certifiées conformes aux documents originaux.

4. Chaque partie fait en sorte que son autorité compétente ait le droit, aux fins visées à l’article premier, d’obtenir et de fournir, sur demande :

a) les renseignements détenus par les banques, les autres institutions financières et toute personne agissant en qualité de mandataire ou de fiduciaire;

b)

i) les renseignements concernant la propriété en common law et la propriété effective des sociétés, sociétés de personnes, « Anstalten » et autres personnes, y compris, dans les limites de l’article 2, les renseignements en matière de propriété concernant toutes ces personnes lorsqu’elles font partie d’une chaîne de propriété et, dans le cas des dispositifs de placement collectif, les renseignements sur les actions, parts et autres participations,

ii) dans le cas des fiducies, les renseignements sur les constituants, les fiduciaires, les protecteurs (protectors) et les bénéficiaires,

iii) dans le cas des fondations, les renseignements sur les fondateurs, les membres du conseil de la fondation et les bénéficiaires,

étant entendu que le présent accord n’oblige pas les parties à obtenir ou à fournir les renseignements en matière de propriété concernant des sociétés cotées ou des dispositifs de placement collectif publics si de tels renseignements ne peuvent être obtenus sans susciter des difficultés disproportionnées.

5. Toute demande de renseignements est formulée de la manière la plus détaillée possible et précise par écrit :

a) l’identité de la personne faisant l’objet d’un contrôle ou d’une enquête;

b) la période sur laquelle porte la demande de renseignements;

c) la nature des renseignements demandés et la forme sous laquelle la partie requérante souhaite les recevoir;

d) le but fiscal dans lequel les renseignements sont demandés;

e) les raisons qui donnent à penser que les renseignements demandés sont vraisemblablement pertinents pour l’administration et l’application des dispositions fiscales de la partie requérante en ce qui concerne la personne mentionnée au sous-paragraphe a) du présent paragraphe;

f) les raisons qui donnent à penser que les renseignements demandés sont détenus sur le territoire de la partie requise ou sont en la possession d’une personne relevant de sa compétence ou peuvent être obtenus par une telle personne;

g) dans la mesure où ils sont connus, les nom et adresse de toute personne dont il y a lieu de penser qu’elle détient ou peut obtenir les renseignements demandés;

h) une déclaration précisant que la demande est conforme aux dispositions législatives et réglementaires ainsi qu’aux pratiques administratives de la partie requérante, que, si les renseignements demandés relevaient de la compétence de la partie requérante, l’autorité compétente de cette partie pourrait obtenir les renseignements selon le droit de cette partie ou dans le cadre normal de ses pratiques administratives et que la demande est conforme au présent accord;

i)  une déclaration précisant que la partie requérante a utilisé pour obtenir les renseignements tous les moyens disponibles sur son propre territoire, sauf ceux qui susciteraient des difficultés disproportionnées.

6. L’autorité compétente de la partie requise accuse réception de la demande auprès de l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante et met tout en œuvre pour transmettre à la partie requérante, dans les plus brefs délais, les renseignements demandés.

ARTICLE 5

Contrôles fiscaux à l’étranger

1. La partie requise peut, moyennant un préavis raisonnable, autoriser des représentants de l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante à entrer sur son territoire, dans les limites autorisées par son droit interne, pour interroger des personnes physiques et examiner des documents, avec le consentement écrit préalable des personnes concernées. L’autorité compétente de la partie requérante informe l’autorité compétente de la partie requise de la date et du lieu de l’entretien avec les personnes physiques concernées.

2. À la demande de l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante, l’autorité compétente de la partie requise peut autoriser des représentants de l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante à assister à un contrôle fiscal effectué sur le territoire de la partie requise.

3. Si la demande visée au paragraphe 2 est acceptée, l’autorité compétente de la partie requise qui conduit le contrôle fait connaître aussitôt que possible à l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante la date et le lieu du contrôle, l’autorité ou la personne autorisée à effectuer le contrôle ainsi que les procédures et conditions exigées par la partie requise pour la conduite du contrôle. Toute décision relative à la conduite du contrôle est prise par la partie requise qui conduit le contrôle.

ARTICLE 6 

Possibilité de rejeter une demande

1. L’autorité compétente de la partie requise peut refuser l’assistance dans l’un ou l’autre des cas suivants :

a) la demande n’est pas soumise en conformité avec le présent accord;

b) la partie requérante n’a pas utilisé pour obtenir les renseignements tous les moyens disponibles sur son propre territoire, sauf ceux qui susciteraient des difficultés disproportionnées;

c) la communication des renseignements demandés serait contraire à l’ordre public de la partie requise.

2. Le présent accord n’oblige pas la partie requise à fournir des documents qui :

a) dans le cas de Jersey, sont protégés par le privilège juridique, ou, dans le cas du Canada, sont protégés par le secret professionnel de l’avocat;

b) révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel ou professionnel ou un procédé commercial, étant entendu que les renseignements visés au paragraphe 4 de l’article 4 ne peuvent pas, pour ce seul motif, être considérés comme un secret ou procédé commercial.

3. Une demande de renseignements ne peut être rejetée au motif que la créance fiscale faisant l’objet de la demande est contestée.

4. La partie requise n’est pas tenue d’obtenir et de fournir des renseignements que l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante ne pourrait obtenir selon le droit de la partie requérante ou dans le cours normal de ses pratiques administratives s’ils se trouvaient sur le territoire de cette dernière partie.

5. La partie requise peut rejeter une demande de renseignements si les renseignements sont demandés par la partie requérante pour administrer ou appliquer une disposition de la législation fiscale de la partie requérante – ou toute obligation s’y rattachant – qui est discriminatoire à l’encontre d’un ressortissant ou d’un citoyen de la partie requise par rapport à un ressortissant ou un citoyen de la partie requérante se trouvant dans les mêmes circonstances.

ARTICLE 7 

Confidentialité

1. Tous les renseignements fournis ou reçus par les autorités compétentes des parties sont tenus confidentiels.

2. Les renseignements fournis ne peuvent être divulgués qu’aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et les organes administratifs) concernées par les fins visées à l’article premier et ils ne peuvent être utilisés par ces personnes ou autorités qu’à ces fins, y compris pour les décisions en matière de recours. À ces mêmes fins, les renseignements peuvent être divulgués lors d’audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des décisions judiciaires.

3. Les renseignements ne peuvent être utilisés à d’autres fins que celles visées à l’article premier sans l’autorisation écrite expresse de l’autorité compétente de la partie requise.

4. Les renseignements fournis à la partie requérante en vertu du présent accord ne peuvent être communiqués à aucune autre juridiction.

ARTICLE 8 

Frais

Sauf accord contraire entre les autorités compétentes des parties, les frais ordinaires engagés pour fournir l’assistance sont supportés par la partie requise, et les frais extraordinaires engagés à cette fin (y compris les frais engagés pour retenir les services de conseillers externes relativement à des litiges ou d’autres questions) sont supportés par la partie requérante. Les autorités compétentes se consultent au besoin au sujet du présent article et, notamment, l’autorité compétente de la partie requise consulte l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante à l’avance si elle s’attend à ce que les frais liés à la fourniture de renseignements concernant une demande en particulier soient importants.

ARTICLE 9

Autres accords et arrangements internationaux

Les possibilités d’assistance prévues par le présent accord ne limitent pas celles découlant de tous accords ou autres arrangements internationaux en vigueur entre les parties qui se rapportent à la coopération en matière fiscale et ne sont pas limitées par elles.

ARTICLE 10

Dispositions d’application

Les parties adoptent toute législation nécessaire pour se conformer au présent accord et lui donner effet.

ARTICLE 11

Procédure amiable

1. En cas de difficultés ou de doutes entre les parties au sujet de l’application ou de l’interprétation du présent accord, les autorités compétentes s’efforcent de régler la question par voie d’accord amiable.

2. Outre les accords visés au paragraphe 1, les autorités compétentes des parties peuvent déterminer d’un commun accord les procédures à suivre en application des articles 4, 5 et 8.

3. Les autorités compétentes des parties peuvent communiquer entre elles directement en vue d’en arriver à un accord en application du présent article.

4. Au besoin, les parties conviennent d’autres formes de règlement des différends.

ARTICLE 12

Entrée en vigueur

Le présent accord entre en vigueur à la date de la dernière des notifications par lesquelles les parties se sont notifié l’accomplissement de leurs procédures internes requises pour l’entrée en vigueur. À compter de la date de son entrée en vigueur, le présent accord prend effet :

a) en ce qui concerne les questions fiscales mettant en cause une conduite intentionnelle pouvant faire l’objet de poursuites en vertu des lois pénales de la partie requérante (que les dispositions en cause soient prévues par la législation fiscale, le code criminel ou d’autres lois), à cette date;

b) en ce qui concerne toutes les autres questions visées à l’article premier, à cette date, mais seulement à l’égard d’exercices fiscaux commençant à cette date ou par la suite, ou à défaut d’exercice fiscal, pour toutes les obligations prenant naissance à cette date ou par la suite.

ARTICLE 13 

Dénonciation

1. Le présent accord demeure en vigueur jusqu’à sa dénonciation par une partie.

2. Une partie peut dénoncer le présent accord en donnant une notification de dénonciation écrite à l’autre partie. La dénonciation prend effet le premier jour du mois suivant l’expiration d’un délai de six mois à compter de la date de la notification de dénonciation. Toutes les demandes reçues jusqu’à la date de prise d’effet de la dénonciation sont traitées conformément aux modalités du présent accord.

3. En cas de dénonciation du présent accord, les parties restent liées par les dispositions de l’article 7 pour tous renseignements obtenus en application du présent accord.

EN FOI DE QUOI, les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet par les parties, ont signé le présent accord.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Saint-Hélier, ce 12ième jour de janvier 2011, en langues française et anglaise, chaque version faisant également foi.

James Wright
____________________________
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

Terence Augustine Le Sueur
____________________________
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DE JERSEY