Protocol amending the convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Kingdom of Belgium for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income and on capital signed at Ottawa on 23 May 2002

The Government of Canada AND The Government of the Kingdom of Belgium,

DESIRING to amend the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Kingdom of Belgium for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Ottawa on 23 May 2002 (“the Convention”),

HAVE AGREED as follows:

ARTICLE I

The text of Article 26 of the Convention is deleted and replaced by the following:

“1. The competent authorities of the Contracting States shall exchange such information as is foreseeably relevant for carrying out the provisions of this Convention or to the administration or enforcement of the domestic laws concerning taxes of every kind and description imposed by or on behalf of the Contracting States, insofar as the taxation thereunder is not contrary to the Convention. The exchange of information is not restricted by Articles 1 and 2.

2. Any information received under paragraph 1 by a Contracting State shall be treated as secret in the same manner as information obtained under the domestic laws of that State and shall be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) concerned with the assessment or collection of, the enforcement or prosecution in respect of, the determination of appeals in relation to taxes, or the oversight of the above. Such persons or authorities shall use the information only for such purposes. They may disclose the information in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions. Notwithstanding the foregoing, information received by a Contracting State may be used for other purposes when such information may be used for such other purposes under the laws of both States and the competent authority of the supplying State authorises such use.

3. In no case shall the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 be construed so as to impose on a Contracting State the obligation:

(a) to carry out administrative measures at variance with the laws and the administrative practice of that or of the other Contracting State;

(b) to supply information which is not obtainable under the laws or in the normal course of the administration of that or of the other Contracting State; or

(c) to supply information which would disclose any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process, or information the disclosure of which would be contrary to public policy (ordre public).

4. If information is requested by a Contracting State in accordance with this Article, the other Contracting State shall use its information gathering measures to obtain the requested information, even though that other State may not need such information for its own tax purposes. The obligation contained in the preceding sentence is subject to the limitations of paragraph 3 of this Article but in no case shall such limitations be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because it has no domestic interest in such information.

5. In no case shall the provisions of paragraph 3 of this Article be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because the information is held by a bank, other financial institution, trust, foundation, nominee or person acting in an agency or a fiduciary capacity or because the information relates to ownership interests in a person. In order to obtain such information the tax administration of Belgium shall have the power to ask for the disclosure of information and to conduct investigations and hearings notwithstanding any contrary provisions in its domestic tax laws.”

ARTICLE II

1. Each Contracting State shall notify the other Contracting State, through diplomatic channels, of the completion of the domestic procedures required to bring this Protocol into force.

2. The Protocol shall enter into force on the date of the later of these notifications and its provisions shall have effect:

(a) with respect to criminal tax matters, in respect of taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2006, or where there is no taxable period, all charges to tax arising on or after January 1, 2006;

(b) with respect to all other tax matters, in respect of taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2013, or where there is no taxable period, all charges to tax arising on or after January 1, 2013.

ARTICLE III

This Protocol, which shall form an integral part of the Convention, shall remain in force as long as the Convention remains in force and shall apply as long as the Convention itself applies.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, duly authorised thereto by their respective governments, have signed this Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Brussels on this 1st day of April 2014, in the English, French and Dutch languages, each version being equally authentic.

 

 

John Baird
For the Government of Canada
Didier Reynolds
For the Government of the Kingdom of Belgium

Protocole amendant la convention entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Royaume de Belgique en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l’évasion fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune faite à Ottawa le 23 mai 2002

Le gouvernement du Canada ET le gouvernement du Royaume de Belgique,

DÉSIREUX d’amender la Convention entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement du Royaume de Belgique en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l’évasion fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune faite à Ottawa le 23 mai 2002 (« la Convention »),

SONT CONVENUS des dispositions suivantes :

ARTICLE I

Le texte de l’article 26 de la Convention est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 1. Les autorités compétentes des États contractants échangent les renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour l’application des dispositions de la présente Convention ou pour l’administration ou l’application de la législation interne relative aux impôts de toute nature ou dénomination perçus par les États contractants ou pour leur compte, dans la mesure où l’imposition qu’elle prévoit n’est pas contraire à la Convention. L’échange de renseignements n’est pas restreint par les articles 1 et 2.

2. Les renseignements reçus par un État contractant en vertu du paragraphe 1 sont tenus secrets de la même manière que les renseignements obtenus en application de la législation interne de cet État et ne sont communiqués qu’aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et organes administratifs) concernées par l’établissement ou le recouvrement des impôts, par les procédures ou poursuites concernant les impôts, par les décisions sur les recours relatifs aux impôts, ou par le contrôle de ce qui précède. Ces personnes ou autorités n’utilisent ces renseignements qu’à ces fins. Elles peuvent révéler ces renseignements au cours d’audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des jugements. Nonobstant ce qui précède, les renseignements reçus par un État contractant peuvent être utilisés à d’autres fins lorsque cette possibilité résulte des lois des deux États et lorsque l’autorité compétente de l’État qui fournit les renseignements autorise cette utilisation.

3. Les dispositions des paragraphes 1 et 2 ne peuvent en aucun cas être interprétées comme imposant à un État contractant l’obligation :

a) de prendre des mesures administratives dérogeant à sa législation et à sa pratique administrative ou à celles de l’autre État contractant;

b) de fournir des renseignements qui ne pourraient être obtenus sur la base de sa législation ou dans le cadre de sa pratique administrative normale ou de celles de l’autre État contractant;

c) de fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel, professionnel ou un procédé commercial ou des renseignements dont la communication serait contraire à l’ordre public.

4. Si des renseignements sont demandés par un État contractant conformément au présent article, l’autre État contractant utilise les pouvoirs dont il dispose pour obtenir les renseignements demandés, même s’il n’en a pas besoin à ses propres fins fiscales. L’obligation qui figure dans la phrase précédente est soumise aux limitations prévues au paragraphe 3 du présent article sauf si ces limitations sont susceptibles d’empêcher un État contractant de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci ne présentent pas d’intérêt pour lui dans le cadre national.

5. Les dispositions du paragraphe 3 du présent article ne peuvent en aucun cas être interprétées comme permettant à un État contractant de refuser de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux‑ci sont détenus par une banque, un autre établissement financier, une fiducie (trust), une fondation, un mandataire ou une personne agissant en tant qu’agent ou fiduciaire ou parce que ces renseignements se rattachent aux droits de propriété dans une personne. En vue d’obtenir ces renseignements, l’administration fiscale de la Belgique a le pouvoir de demander la communication de renseignements et de procéder à des investigations et à des auditions nonobstant toute disposition contraire de sa législation fiscale interne. »

ARTICLE II

1. Chaque État contractant notifie à l’autre, par la voie diplomatique, l’accomplissement de ses procédures internes nécessaires à la mise en vigueur du présent Protocole.

2. Le présent Protocole entre en vigueur à la date de la dernière de ces notifications, et ses dispositions sont applicables :

a) en ce qui concerne les questions fiscales pénales, aux périodes imposables commençant à partir du 1er janvier 2006 ou, à défaut de période imposable, à toute imposition prenant naissance à partir du 1er janvier 2006;

b) en ce qui concerne toutes les autres questions fiscales, aux périodes imposables commençant à partir du 1er janvier 2013 ou, à défaut de période imposable, à toute imposition prenant naissance à partir du 1er janvier 2013.

ARTICLE III

Le présent Protocole fait partie intégrante de la Convention, il demeurera en vigueur aussi longtemps que la Convention et s’appliquera tant que la Convention sera applicable.

EN FOI DE QUOI, les soussignés, dûment autorisés par leurs gouvernements respectifs, ont signé le présent Protocole.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Bruxelles, ce 1er jour d'avril 2014, en langues française, anglaise et néerlandaise, chaque version faisant également foi.

 

 

John Baird
Pour le Gouvernement du Canada
Didier Reynolds
Pour le Gouvernement du Royaume de Belgique