tax information exchange agreement signed between canada and the netherlands in respect of the netherlands antilles

August 31, 2009


A tax information exchange agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in respect of the Netherlands Antilles was signed on August 29, 2009. The Agreement shall enter into force on the first day of the third month after each country has notified the other that the internal procedures required by that country for the entry into force of the Agreement have been complied with.

Consistent with Canada's international efforts to promote transparency and effective exchange of tax information, the Agreement contains the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development internationally agreed standard on exchange of tax information.

This Agreement will enable Canadian tax authorities to obtain information relevant to Canadian tax matters that is within the possession of, or can be obtained by, the Netherlands Antilles authorities, in order to better enforce and administer Canadian taxation laws and to prevent fiscal evasion.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: 613-369-4016

Signature d'un accord d'échange de renseignements fiscaux avec les pays-bas en ce qui concerne les Antilles néerlandaises

31 août 2009


Un accord d'échange de renseignements fiscaux entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Royaume des Pays-Bas en ce qui concerne les Antilles néerlandaises a été signé le 29 août 2009. L'Accord entrera en en vigueur le premier jour du troisième mois après que chaque pays ait notifié à l'autre par écrit que ses procédures internes pour l'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord ont été accomplies.

Conformément aux efforts déployés par le Canada pour promouvoir la transparence et l'échange efficace de renseignements fiscaux à l'échelle internationale, l'Accord comprend la norme fiscale de l'Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques en matière d'échange de renseignements admise à l'échelle internationale.

L'Accord permettra aux autorités fiscales canadiennes d'obtenir les renseignements fiscaux pertinents aux impôts canadiens, qui sont soit en possession ou accessibles par les autorités des Antilles néerlandaises, afin de mieux appliquer les lois fiscales canadiennes et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l'impôt
No de téléphone : 613-369-4016