Statement of Investment Policy for the Government of Canada (October 2016)

1. Purpose of Policy

The Statement of Investment Policy for the Government of Canada (SIP) sets out the policy governing the acquisition, management, and divestiture of assets held in the Exchange Fund Account (EFA). The Minister of Finance approves the SIP under the Currency Act.

2. Purpose of Exchange Fund Account

he EFA is the principal repository of Canada's official international reserves. As stated in the Currency Act, the purpose of the EFA is to aid in the control and protection of the external value of the Canadian dollar. Assets held in the EFA shall be managed to provide foreign currency liquidity to the Government and to promote orderly conditions for the Canadian dollar in the foreign exchange markets, if required. The liquid foreign currency assets held in the EFA also form a key component of the Government of Canada's prudential liquidity, which is available to meet financial requirements in situations where normal access to funding markets may be disrupted or delayed.

The EFA also facilitates Government of Canada transactions with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) under the IMF Articles of Agreement. These transactions include the provision of freely usable currencies to the IMF, through the purchase and sale of special drawing rights, as well as various transactions relating to Canada's reserve position in the IMF (which does not form part of the EFA).

3. Governance

Part II of the Currency Act governs the management of the EFA and requires the Minister of Finance to establish an investment policy for EFA assets. The Minister of Finance may delegate the responsibility for the implementation of the approved policy to officials of the Department of Finance Canada and the Bank of Canada (EFA officials).

The Bank of Canada Act provides statutory authority for the Bank of Canada to act as the Government's fiscal agent in the management of the Government of Canada's EFA.

Within the Minister of Finance's delegated authorities, the Funds Management Committee (FMC), composed of senior officials from the Department of Finance Canada and the Bank of Canada, prepares recommendations for the Minister of Finance and oversees the management of the EFA.

The FMC is supported by a Foreign Reserves Committee (FRC) and a Risk Committee (RC). The FRC oversees the funding of and investment of the foreign reserves and provides strategic and policy advice to the FMC related to the management of foreign reserves. The RC is an advisory body to the FMC that reviews and reports on risk exposures, highlights strategic risk issues the FMC should be aware of and identifies measures to mitigate these risks, and advises on broad risk considerations relevant to funds management activities.

Further information regarding oversight and governance is available within the Funds Management Governance Framework.

4. Alignment of EFA Activities With Government of Canada Policy Priorities

4.1 Guiding Principles

The SIP is based on principles that a person of ordinary prudence would apply in dealing with the property of others. The EFA shall be managed according to the fundamental principles of fiscal prudence, transparency and accountability, risk management, effectiveness and efficiency, and financial stability in order to protect the interests of Canadians.

4.2 Fiscal Prudence

The EFA is an account that forms part of the Government of Canada's balance sheet. Recognizing the importance of fiscal prudence and sustainability in public finances, the EFA shall be managed in a cost effective manner under an asset-liability matching framework, whereby the market value of assets and liabilities are matched to the extent possible by currency, term and/or duration, to mitigate the potentially negative impacts of movements in interest rates and foreign exchange rates on the Government's fiscal position. Credit risks associated with assets and liabilities are not offset under this framework and are therefore addressed by other means (Annex).

4.3 Promoting Financial Stability

Canada's international commitments and global regulatory initiatives to support financial stability will be taken into account in conducting EFA activity.

5. Investment Objectives

Consistent with the purpose of the EFA as defined in section 2, maintaining liquidity and preserving capital are the primary objectives for managing the EFA. Accordingly, the EFA shall hold assets that can be sold or otherwise deployed on very short notice with minimal market impact and loss of value in order to maintain a high standard of liquidity. The EFA shall hold a diversified portfolio of fixed-income assets of high credit quality, and follow leading risk management practices in order to meet the objective of preserving capital value. The EFA shall be managed to maximize return on investments once the objectives of liquidity and capital preservation are clearly met.

6. Investment Process

he EFA shall be governed by a framework that includes a formalized, top-down investment management style that provides clarity on roles, decision-making authority, and accountability to facilitate the achievement of the EFA's objectives. The Minister of Finance, or his/her delegate, shall establish the risk tolerances of the portfolio through approvals of the Strategic Portfolio Parameters. The FMC shall establish the risk preferences of the portfolio through approval of the Strategic Asset Allocation. The FRC shall establish a benchmark that details asset allocations to individual counterparties deemed eligible for investment.

6.1 Strategic Portfolio Parameters

Strategic Portfolio Parameters for the EFA shall include, but are not limited to, the level of reserves, criteria for currency and asset class eligibility based on liquidity and capital preservation considerations, and portfolio risk limits. The Strategic Portfolio Parameters are included as Annex 1B1. The Minister of Finance may except the liquid assets held in the EFA from the application of some or all the Strategic Portfolio Parameters where any of these assets are: (i) sold to provide foreign currency liquidity to the Government; (ii) sold to promote orderly conditions for the Canadian dollar in the foreign exchange markets; or (iii) sold in other similar circumstances.

6.2 Strategic Asset Allocation

The Strategic Asset Allocation shall direct the asset allocation of the portfolio in a manner that is consistent with meeting the EFA's objectives. The Strategic Asset Allocation shall provide a framework to inform the investment decision-making process and to measure progress toward achieving the EFA's objectives of maintaining liquidity and preserving capital.

6.3 Investment Benchmark

The Investment Benchmark shall be established by the FRC. It will specify investment exposures to eligible counterparties while adhering to the Strategic Portfolio Parameters (6.1) and in a manner consistent with achieving the Strategic Asset Allocation (6.2).

7. Securities Lending and Use of Derivatives

In order to meet the objectives of the EFA, officials may acquire or borrow assets, sell or lend those assets, and undertake related activities for the purposes of executing those transactions. Short sales are prohibited.

EFA officials shall only use derivatives and undertake related activities in a manner that is consistent with the objectives of the EFA.

8. Performance Assessment and Risk Management Reporting

EFA officials shall be responsible for measuring and monitoring the performance and risk exposures of the EFA and tracking these positions against the Strategic Asset Allocation and other appropriate indices, and providing regular reports to senior officials and the Minister of Finance.

Performance and risk measures shall be consistent with leading practices and provide timely and accurate information on the returns on EFA assets, the cost of associated liabilities and the relevant financial risks. An explanation of these measures can be found in the Government of Canada Treasury Risk Management Framework.

8.1 Public Reporting

The Currency Act requires annual reporting to Parliament on whether the objectives of the EFA have been met. This is accomplished through the annual reporting of the EFA's performance in the Report on the Management of Canada's Official International Reserves. In addition, the Minister of Finance provides monthly updates on the performance of the EFA, in accordance with the IMF's General Data Dissemination System standards.

The Financial Administration Act requires annual reporting to Parliament on the funding associated with the investments.

8.2 Commercial Confidentiality

Notwithstanding the requirement to provide timely and comprehensive information on the EFA to Canadians, the names of individual counterparties or the securities held in the EFA shall not be disclosed for reasons of financial stability

9. Review

The SIP shall be reviewed regularly. Until the Minister of Finance otherwise amends and approves the SIP and the governance and risk management frameworks, they shall remain in effect.

Annex: Strategic Portfolio Parameters (October 2016)

The following Strategic Portfolio Parameters have been established to ensure that the liquid assets held in the EFA meet the primary objectives of maintaining liquidity and preserving capital. The parameters define eligible investments for the EFA and specify limits to protect the liquidity and capital value of EFA investments.

Liquidity Risk Tolerances

Liquidity risk tolerances have been established to ensure that a suitable level of EFA investments that can be readily sold during volatile market conditions is available to the Government at all times in the event that regular channels of financing are temporarily unavailable.

1. Level of Liquid Foreign Reserves

Liquid foreign reserves are held to safeguard Canada's ability to meet payment obligations in situations where normal access to funding markets may be disrupted or delayed and to support investor confidence in securities issued by the Government of Canada.

  • The level for the total market value of all foreign currency-denominated investments must be maintained at or above 3 per cent of Canada's annual nominal gross domestic product.
  • The composition of liquid assets shall adhere to the requirements detailed in the Government's Prudential Liquidity Plan and foreign exchange intervention framework.

2. US-Dollar Holdings

Currency interventions to support orderly conditions for the Canadian dollar in the foreign exchange markets are likely to involve sales of US dollars to purchase Canadian dollars, highlighting the importance of owning the most liquid US-dollar-denominated assets. Thus, at least 50 per cent of liquid foreign reserves, measured on a market-value basis, must be denominated in US dollars.

3. Eligible Assets

Liquid foreign reserves shall be readily available to be sold or otherwise deployed with limited price impact to meet the Government's foreign currency requirements.

  • Eligible assets include fixed-income securities issued by sovereigns (including central banks and government-related entities), sovereign-supported issuers, sub-sovereign entities,1 and supranational institutions.
  • Eligible assets also include deposits with commercial banks, central banks and the Bank for International Settlements, repurchase agreements, commercial paper and certificates of deposit issued by private sector entities, gold and International Monetary Fund (IMF) special drawing rights. Bonds with embedded options and holdings of securities issued by and deposits with Canadian-domiciled entities (or entities that derive a majority of their revenues from their Canadian operations) are not permitted.
  • All other classes of assets not listed in this annex are prohibited.

4. Exposure to Issuers

Four categories of asset issuers have been defined for the EFA:

  1. Reference Issuers: These are government issuers of securities that are deemed by Canada to have reserve currency status and are actively traded, including cash.
  • The minimum exposure to this category is 45 per cent of liquid foreign reserves on a market-value basis.
  1. Other Liquid Sovereign Issuers: These are government issuers of securities that are deemed by Canada to trade actively.
  2. Other Highly Rated Issuers: These issuers are deemed by Canada to be of the highest credit quality.
  3. Other Issuers: These issuers are high credit quality sovereigns and other entities that meet Canada's liquidity and capital preservation requirements.

Capital preservation risk tolerances

Capital preservation risk tolerances have been established to ensure that the market value of EFA assets will be relatively well preserved during times of market stress.

1. Interest Rate Exposure

Money market assets held in the EFA have an original term to maturity of one year or less. The value of these short-term assets is less sensitive than the value of longer-term assets to movements in interest rates. The ratio of money market assets to longer-term assets is, therefore, an important driver of the capital preservation profile of the liquid foreign reserves.

Money market assets in the EFA shall comprise at least 15  per cent of liquid foreign reserves on a market-value basis.

2. Maximum Term to Maturity

The term to maturity of individual assets is an important consideration since the value of longer-term fixed-income securities is generally more sensitive than the value of shorter-term fixed-income securities to movements in interest rates. In addition, in many instances longer-term securities are less liquid than shorter-term securities of the same issuer denominated in the same currency. Limiting the maximum term to maturity of assets aids in preserving the liquidity and capital value of assets that can be sold or otherwise deployed.

  • The maximum term to maturity of individual assets held in the EFA is 10.5 years.

3. Other Eligible Currencies

To meet liquidity requirements and mitigate currency concentration risk, assets held as part of the liquid foreign reserves can be denominated in currencies other than US dollars, whose reference issuers satisfy the established liquidity and capital preservation constraints.

  • Other eligible currencies include euros, British pounds and Japanese yen. In order to meet the Government's international commitments, assets can also be denominated in IMF special drawing rights.

4. Eligible Counterparties and Issuers

In order to mitigate the negative impact of potential credit events on the market value of liquid foreign reserves, eligible investments, deposits and repurchase counterparties must be of acceptable credit quality, a determination that is informed by external credit ratings and internal credit analysis.2

  • Eligible issuers and counterparties must be deemed by Canada to have a credit rating of "A-" or higher.
  • Reference issuers of securities that are deemed to have reserve currency status and are actively traded are exempt from the minimum credit rating requirement, since they are deemed to be the primary issuer of eligible securities in their local currency.
  • The only allowable unrated investments are the following:
    1. securities issued by, and deposits with, central banks where the sovereign's credit quality is acceptable; and
    2. special drawing rights created by the International Monetary Fund.

5. Credit and Market Risk

The market value of liquid foreign reserve assets can be preserved by managing credit and market risks. An asset-liability matching framework, whereby the market value of assets and liabilities are matched by currency, term, and/or duration, is used to manage adverse impacts of changes in interest and foreign exchange rates on the Government's fiscal balance. Metrics such as Value at Risk, which measure the maximum potential loss the portfolio could suffer over a given period at a given confidence level, shall be monitored by senior officials to ensure the potential negative impacts of credit and market risk are managed within acceptable levels.


1 Sub-sovereigns are defined as levels of government within a sovereign territory, and hierarchically below the sovereign. For example, this could include, but is not limited to, states, provinces or municipalities within a sovereign.

2 Internal credit ratings and credit opinions are determined jointly by the Department of Finance Canada and Bank of Canada, based on methodologies consistent with international best practice, and use market-accepted rating scales.

Énoncé de politique de placement du gouvernement du Canada (octobre 2016)

1. Objet de la politique

L'Énoncé de politique de placement du gouvernement du Canada présente la politique régissant l'acquisition, la gestion et le dessaisissement des actifs détenus dans le Compte du fonds des changes (CFC). Le ministre des Finances approuve l'Énoncé en vertu de la Loi sur la monnaie

2. Objet du Compte du fonds des changes

Le CFC est le dépôt principal des réserves officielles de change du Canada. Comme il est énoncé dans la Loi sur la monnaie, l'objet du CFC est d'aider à contrôler et à préserver la valeur du dollar canadien sur les marchés internationaux. Les actifs détenus dans le CFC sont gérés de façon à procurer des liquidités en devises au gouvernement et, s'il y a lieu, à fournir des fonds afin de favoriser un comportement ordonné du dollar canadien sur les marchés des changes. Les actifs liquides en devises détenus dans le CFC forment aussi un élément clé de la liquidité prudentielle du gouvernement du Canada, laquelle est disponible pour répondre aux exigences financières dans l'éventualité où l'accès normal aux marchés financiers serait perturbé ou retardé.

De plus, le CFC facilite les opérations entre le gouvernement et le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) conformément aux accords avec le  FMI. Ces opérations comprennent la fourniture de monnaies librement utilisables au FMI, au moyen de l'achat et de la vente de droits de tirage spéciaux, ainsi que diverses opérations liées à la position de réserve du Canada au FMI (qui ne fait pas partie du CFC).

3. Gouvernance

La partie II de la Loi sur la monnaie régit la gestion du CFC et prévoit que le ministre des Finances établisse une politique de placement pour les actifs du CFC. Le ministre des Finances peut déléguer la responsabilité de la mise en œuvre de la politique approuvée à des fonctionnaires du ministère des Finances du Canada et de la Banque du Canada (responsables du CFC).

La Loi sur la Banque du Canada autorise cette dernière à remplir les fonctions d'agent financier du gouvernement en ce qui concerne la gestion du CFC.

Dans le cadre des pouvoirs délégués conférés au ministre des Finances, le Comité de gestion de fonds (CGF), formé de hauts fonctionnaires du ministère des Finances du Canada et de la Banque du Canada, prépare des recommandations pour le ministre des Finances et supervise la gestion du CFC.

Le CGF est appuyé par un Comité des réserves de change (CRC) et par un Comité de gestion du risque (CGR). Le CRC supervise les activités liées au financement et au placement des réserves en devises et présente des conseils sur des politiques stratégiques au CGF liés à la gestion des réserves de change. Le CGR est un organe consultatif du CGF chargé d'examiner les rapports sur l'exposition au risque, de souligner les questions de risque stratégique dont le CGF doit être conscient et de proposer des mesures pour atténuer ces risques, ainsi que d'offrir des conseils sur les considérations de risque générales qui visent les activités de gestion des fonds.

De plus amples informations au sujet de la surveillance et de la gouvernance sont présentées dans le Cadre de gouvernance de la gestion des fonds.

4. Harmonisation des activités du CFC avec les priorités stratégiques du gouvernement du Canada

4.1 Principes directeurs

L'Énoncé de politique de placement est fondé sur les principes qu'une personne exerçant une prudence normale appliquerait dans la gestion de biens d'autrui. Le CFC est géré selon les principes fondamentaux de la prudence financière, de la transparence et la responsabilisation, de la gestion des risques, de l'efficacité et l'efficience et de la stabilité financière dans le but de protéger les intérêts des Canadiens.

4.2 Prudence financière

Le CFC est un compte qui fait partie du bilan du gouvernement du Canada. Reconnaissant l'importance de la prudence financière et de la viabilité des finances publiques, le CFC doit être géré avec efficience en vertu d'un cadre d'appariement des actifs et des passifs dans lequel la valeur marchande des actifs et des passifs correspondent, dans la mesure du possible, par devise, par échéance et/ou par durée, afin d'atténuer les répercussions potentiellement négatives des mouvements des taux d'intérêt et des taux de change sur la position financière du gouvernement. Les risques de crédit associés aux actifs et aux passifs ne sont pas compensés dans ce cadre et doivent être abordés par d'autres moyens (annexe).  

4.3 Favoriser la stabilité financière

Les engagements internationaux du Canada et les initiatives réglementaires mondiales pour soutenir la stabilité financière seront pris en compte dans l'exécution des activités du CFC.

5. Objectifs de placement

Conformément à l'objectif du CFC défini à la section 2, maintenir la liquidité et préserver la valeur du capital sont les objectifs fondamentaux de la gestion du CFC. Par conséquent, le CFC doit détenir des actifs qui peuvent être vendus ou autrement déployés à très court préavis avec un minimum de répercussions sur le marché et, donc, de perte de valeur afin de maintenir des liquidités de haute qualité. Le CFC doit détenir un portefeuille diversifié d'actifs à revenu fixe de haute qualité de crédit, en plus de suivre des pratiques directrices de gestion des risques afin de respecter l'objectif de préservation de la valeur du capital. Le CFC sera géré de manière à maximiser le rendement du capital investi une fois que les objectifs de liquidité et de préservation du capital auront clairement été atteints.

6. Processus de placement

Pour faciliter l'atteinte des objectifs du CFC, celui-ci doit être régi par un cadre qui comprend un style de gestion de placement descendant et officialisé qui établit clairement les rôles, le pouvoir décisionnel et la responsabilisation. Le ministre des Finances, ou son délégué, doit établir les tolérances au risque par l'approbation des paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille. Le CGF doit établir les préférences des risques du portefeuille au moyen de l'approbation de la répartition stratégique des actifs. Le CRC doit établir un indice de référence qui décrit la répartition des actifs aux contreparties individuelles réputées admissibles au placement.

6.1 Paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille

Les paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille pour le CFC doivent inclure, entre autres, le niveau des réserves, les critères d'admissibilité de la devise et de la catégorie d'actifs en fonction des questions de liquidité et de préservation de la valeur du capital, ainsi que les limites de risque du portefeuille. Les paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille sont inclus à l'annexe 1B1. Le ministre des Finances peut exclure les actifs liquides du CFC de l'application d'une partie ou de la totalité des paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille lorsque l'un de ces actifs est : (i) vendu afin de donner une liquidité en devises au gouvernement; (ii) vendu en vue de favoriser un comportement ordonné du dollar canadien sur les marchés des changes; ou (iii) vendu dans d'autres circonstances semblables. 

6.2 Affectation stratégique des actifs

La répartition stratégique des actifs doit orienter la répartition des actifs du portefeuille d'une manière qui est conforme à l'atteinte des objectifs du CFC. Elle doit fournir un cadre pour informer le processus décisionnel pour les placements et mesurer les progrès réalisés vers l'atteinte des objectifs du CFC visant à maintenir la liquidité et à préserver la valeur du capital.

6.3 Indice de référence en matière de placement

L'indice de référence des placements doit être établi par le CRC. Il précisera les expositions des placements à des contreparties admissibles, tout en respectant les paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille (6.1) et d'une manière conforme à la réalisation de la répartition stratégique des actifs (6.2).  

7. Prêt de titres et instruments dérivés

Pour atteindre les objectifs du CFC, les fonctionnaires peuvent acquérir ou emprunter des actifs, vendre ou prêter ces actifs, et entreprendre des activités connexes aux fins d'exécuter ces opérations. Les ventes à découvert sont interdites. 

Les fonctionnaires du CFC doivent seulement avoir recours à des instruments dérivés et entreprendre des activités d'une manière conforme aux objectifs du CFC.

8. Évaluation du rendement et rapports sur la gestion des risques

Les responsables du CFC sont chargés d'évaluer et de surveiller le rendement du CFC et les risques auxquels il est exposé, d'évaluer ceux-ci par rapport à l'affectation stratégique des actifs ou à d'autres indices appropriés, et de présenter régulièrement des rapports aux hauts fonctionnaires et au ministre des Finances.

Les mesures du rendement et des risques doivent cadrer avec les pratiques exemplaires et fournir des renseignements exacts et en temps opportun sur le rendement des actifs du CFC, le coût des passifs connexes et les risques financiers pertinents. Une explication de ces mesures se trouve dans le Cadre de gestion des risques du Trésor du gouvernement du Canada

8.1 Rapports prévus par la loi

La Loi sur la monnaie exige le dépôt d'un rapport annuel au Parlement qui indique si les objectifs du CFC ont été atteints. On y parvient en faisant état du rendement du CFC tous les ans dans le Rapport sur la gestion des réserves officielles internationales du Canada. En outre, le ministre des Finances fournit des mises à jour mensuelles sur le rendement du CFC, conformément aux lignes directrices des normes relatives au système général de diffusion des données du FMI. 

En vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, il est obligatoire de déposer un rapport annuel au Parlement sur le financement associé aux placements.

8.2 Confidentialité commerciale

Indépendamment de l'obligation de fournir aux Canadiens des renseignements complets et opportuns sur le CFC, le nom des contreparties individuelles ou des garanties détenues dans le CFC ne doit pas être divulgué pour des raisons de stabilité financière et de confidentialité commerciale.

9. Examen

L'Énoncé de politique de placement fera régulièrement l'objet d'un examen. À moins que le ministre des Finances modifie et approuve autrement l'Énoncé et les cadres de gouvernance et de gestion des risques, ils demeureront en vigueur.

Annexe : Paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille (octobre 2016)

Les paramètres stratégiques du portefeuille, exposés ci-après, ont été établis afin d'assurer que les actifs liquides du CFC respectent les objectifs primaires de maintenir la liquidité et de préserver la valeur du capital. Les paramètres définissent les placements admissibles pour le CFC et précisent les limites pour protéger la liquidité et la valeur du capital des placements du CFC.

Tolérances au risque de liquidité

Les tolérances au risque de liquidité ont été établies afin de s'assurer qu'un niveau approprié des placements du CFC qui peuvent être vendus facilement pendant des conditions de marché volatiles est disponible pour le gouvernement en tout temps au cas où les modes de financement réguliers sont temporairement inaccessibles.

1. Niveau des réserves de liquidités étrangères

Les réserves de liquidités étrangèressont détenues afin de protéger la capacité du Canada à respecter les obligations de paiement dans les situations où l'accès régulier aux marchés des capitaux peut être interrompu ou retardé et pour appuyer la confiance des investisseurs à l'égard des titres émis par le gouvernement du Canada.

  • Le niveau de la valeur totale dumarché pour tous les placements en devises doit être maintenu à 3 % ou plus du produit intérieur brut nominal annuel du Canada. 
  • La composition des actifs liquides doit respecter les exigences décrites dans le Plan de liquidité prudentielle du gouvernement et dans le cadre d'intervention sur le marché des changes. 

2. Actifs en dollars américains

Les interventions en devises pour appuyer un comportement ordonné du dollar canadien sur les marchés des changes sont susceptibles de comprendre la vente de dollars américains pour acheter des dollars canadiens, ce qui souligne l'importance de posséder les éléments d'actif les plus liquides en dollars américains. Ainsi, au moins 50 % des réserves de liquidités étrangères, mesurées selon la valeur marchande, doivent être en dollars américains.

3. Actifs admissibles

Les réserves de liquidités internationales doivent être vendues facilement ou autrement déployées avec une incidence limitée sur les prix afin de respecter les exigences du gouvernement en matière de monnaies étrangères. 

  • Les actifs admissibles comprennent des titres à revenus fixes d'émetteurs souverains (y compris les banques centrales et les entités liées au gouvernement), les émetteurs à financement public, les entités infranationales1 et les institutions supranationales.
  • Les actifs admissibles comprennent aussi les dépôts auprès des banques commerciales, des banques centrales et de la Banque des règlements internationaux, des conventions de rachat, des effets commerciaux et des certificats de dépôt émis par des entités du secteur privé, de l'or et des droits de tirage spéciaux du Fonds monétaire international (FMI). Les obligations à option intégrée ne sont pas admissibles, de même que les titres émis par des entités qui sont établies au Canada (ou qui tirent la majeure partie de leurs revenus d'activités menées au Canada) et les dépôts auprès de ces entités.
  • Les catégories d'actifs qui ne figurent pas dans la présente annexe sont aussi inadmissibles.

4. Exposition aux émetteurs

Quatre catégories d'émetteurs d'actifs ont été définies pour le CFC :

  1. Émetteurs de référence : il s'agit d'émetteurs de titres du gouvernement qui sont réputés par le Canada comme ayant un statut de monnaie de réserve et qui sont activement négociés, y compris l'encaisse.
  • L'exposition minimale de cette catégorie est de 45 % des réserves de liquidités étrangères selon la valeur marchande. 
  1. Autres émetteurs souverains de liquidités : ce sont des émetteurs de titres du gouvernement qui sont réputés par le Canada comme négociant activement.
  2. Autres émetteurs à haute notation : ces émetteurs sont réputés par le Canada comme ayant la qualité de crédit la plus élevée.
  3. Autres émetteurs : ces émetteurs sont des émetteurs souverains ayant la qualité de crédit la plus élevée et d'autres entités qui satisfont aux exigences du Canada en matière de liquidité et de préservation du capital.

Tolérances au risque de la préservation du capital

Les tolérances au risque de la préservation du capital ont été établies pour s'assurer que la valeur marchande des actifs du CFC sera relativement bien préservée en période de stress du marché.

1. Exposition au taux d'intérêt

Les actifs du marché monétaire détenus au CFC ont une échéance d'un an ou moins au départ. La valeur de ces actifs de courte durée est moins sensible que la valeur des actifs de longue durée aux fluctuations des taux d'intérêt. Le rapport entre les actifs du marché monétaire et les actifs à long terme est donc un facteur important du profil de préservation du capital des réserves de liquidités étrangères. 

Les actifs du marché monétaire dans le CFC doivent comprendre au moins 15 % des réserves de liquidités étrangères selon la valeur marchande.

2. Échéance maximale

L'échéance des actifs individuels est une considération importante, puisque la valeur des titres à revenu fixe de longue durée est généralement plus sensible que la valeur des titres à revenu fixe de courte durée aux fluctuations des taux d'intérêt. En outre, dans bien des cas, les titres de longue durée sont moins liquides que les titres de courte durée du même émetteur dans la même devise. Le fait de limiter l'échéance maximale des actifs permet de préserver la liquidité et la valeur du capital des actifs qui peuvent être vendus ou autrement déployés.

  • L'échéance maximale des actifs individuels détenus dans le CFC est de 10,5 ans.

3. Autres devises admissibles

Pour répondre aux exigences en matière de liquidité et pour atténuer le risque de concentration de la devise, les actifs détenus dans le cadre des réserves de liquidités étrangèerespeuvent être en devises autres que le dollar américain, dont les émetteurs de référence satisfont aux contraintes établies en matière de liquidité et de préservation du capital. 

  • D'autres devises admissibles comprennent l'euro, la livre britannique et le yen japonais. Afin de respecter les engagements internationaux du gouvernement, les actifs peuvent également être en droits de tirage spéciaux du FMI.

4. Contreparties et émetteurs admissibles

Pour atténuer l'incidence négative des événements de crédit possibles sur la valeur marchande des réserves de liquidités étrangères, les investissements admissibles, les dépôts et les contreparties de rachat doivent avoir une qualité de crédit acceptable, qui est fondée sur la cote attribuée par les organismes de notation externes et sur l'analyse du crédit interne2 .

  • Les émetteurs et les contreparties admissibles doivent être réputés par le Canada comme ayant une cote de crédit de « A- » ou plus. 
  • Les émetteurs de titres de référence qui sont réputés comme ayant un statut de monnaie de réserve et qui sont négociés activement sont exonérés de l'exigence de la cote de crédit minimale, puisqu'ils sont réputés comme étant l'émetteur principal des titres admissibles dans sa devise locale. 
  • Les seuls placements non notés admissibles sont les suivants :
    1. les titres émis par les banques centrales où la qualité du crédit du souverain est acceptable, et les dépôts auprès de ces banques;
    2. les droits de tirage spéciaux créés par le Fonds monétaire international.

5. Risques de marché et de crédit

La valeur marchande des actifs des réserves de liquidités étrangères peut être protégée en gérant les risques de crédit et de marché. Un cadre d'appariement des actifs et des passifs, selon lequel la valeur marchande des actifs et des passifs correspond selon la devise, la date d'échéance et/ou la durée, sert à gérer les répercussions négatives des changements des taux de change sur le solde budgétaire du gouvernement. Les indicateurs paramétriques telles que la valeur à risque, qui mesure la perte potentielle maximum que pourrait subir le portefeuille sur une période donnée, à un niveau de confiance donné, devront être surveillés par les hauts fonctionnaires afin de s'assurer que les répercussions négatives et les risques de marché et de crédit soient gérés à des niveaux acceptables.


1 Les « entités infranationales » se définissent comme des ordres de gouvernement au sein d'un territoire souverain, qui se situe à un niveau hiérarchique inférieur à celui de l'État souverain. Par exemple, les entités infranationales pourraient comprendre, entre autres, les états, les provinces et les municipalités à l'intérieur d'un territoire souverain.

2 Les cotes de crédit internes et les opinions sur le crédit sont déterminées conjointement par le ministère des Finances du Canada et par la Banque du Canada, en fonction de méthodologies conformes aux meilleures pratiques internationales, et elles utilisent les barèmes de cotation reconnus sur le marché.