Memorandum of Understanding on Treasury and credit Risk Management between the Bank of Canada and the Department of Finance

1. Purpose

The purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) is to set out the government's treasury and credit risk management policy framework and agreed roles and responsibilities of the Bank of Canada and the Department of Finance with respect to the implementation of the framework.

2. Policy and Principles

The Minister of Finance is responsible for managing the Government of Canada's financial assets and liabilities, which encompass a range of treasury activities that engender exposure by the Government to financial risks, including market, credit, operational and legal risks. The Minister has approved a policy with respect to treasury risk management entitled Government of Canada Guidelines on Treasury Risk Management (March 2000). The major principles set out within the government's risk management policy document are:

3. Focus of Treasury and credit Risk Management

Treasury and Credit Risk Management policy pertains to the risks inherent in the following activities of the federal government: Exchange Fund Account (EFA) investments and liabilities; foreign exchange and gold transactions; securities lending; interest rate and currency swaps; and the Receiver General cash management framework.

4. Roles and Responsibilities

The Department of Finance and the Bank of Canada work jointly to implement the government's risk management policy (outlined in the document entitled Government of Canada Guidelines on Treasury Risk Management), consistent with the principles specified within the policy document. To this end, the Bank of Canada and Department of Finance have agreed upon a Treasury Management Governance Framework (October 2008).

The Governance Framework establishes a Funds Management Committee (FMC) to advise the Minister on policy and strategy, to oversee the implementation of approved policy and plans and to receive reports on performance outcomes covering wholesale debt, cash management, reserves and risk control.

The FMC is supported by a Risk Committee (RC) in fulfilling its mandate with respect to the management of treasury risk. The RC is an advisory body, jointly chaired by the Bank of Canada and the Department of Finance. The RC is responsible for reviewing the risk management framework and recommending its approval by the FMC, reviewing reports on risk exposures, identifying risk issues the FMC should be aware of, advising on recommended measures to mitigate these risks and providing advice on the risk aspects of policy recommendations put before the FMC.

To support the work of the RC, the Bank and the Department of Finance agree through this MoU that a Financial Risk Office (FRO) will be maintained at the Bank of Canada that functions independently from funds management operations at the Bank. The Bank is responsible for ensuring appropriate staffing and resources are provided to support FRO in fulfilling its responsibilities.

With respect to treasury and credit risks identified in Section 3 of this document, FRO's responsibilities are to assess, measure, monitor and report on risk exposures in the EFA and RG domestic cash balances, to advise operational units on risk issues associated with policy initiatives, and to advise the RC on key risk issues related to proposals submitted to the FMC. In particular, with respect to assessing credit risk, the FRO will conduct fundamental credit analysis for purposes of determining the credit rating of trading and investment counterparties. The credit ratings will be determined by an internal and independent credit rating committee, using a methodology approved by the FMC. The internally-determined ratings will be used in setting eligibility requirements and credit limits, as part of the government’s risk management policy.

To ensure the effective use of resources, the RC will receive from FRO: (i) regular reports on risk exposures pertaining to the relevant treasury activities (see Section 3); (ii) FRO input into risk aspects of policy issues; and (iii) regular reports on decisions of the Credit Rating Committee. The Risk Committee will also review and approve FRO's work plan on RC-related issues. FRO is also responsible for preparing monthly risk management and reserves management reports for distribution to RC members and line managers.

FRO is also responsible for maintaining and providing information/data for the Public Accounts, the Department of Finance monthly official international reserves press release and selected sections of the Government's Annual Report on the Management of the Exchange Fund Account, and for reporting on the financial risk exposures of Crown corporations, as required.

In carrying out its day-to-day functions, FRO will work closely with the Bank's Foreign Reserves Management (FRM) team and the Department of Finance's Reserves and Risk Management (RRM) Section to ensure that transactions undertaken to fund and invest Canada's foreign exchange reserves adhere to predetermined risk tolerances, and that key risks associated with any new operations are identified ahead of time and prudently managed. Similarly, FRO will work closely with the Bank's Treasury and Settlement Systems team and Finance's Debt Management Policy Section to ensure that risks associated with domestic cash balances are prudently managed.

5. Period of Agreement

This MoU is effective as of April 1, 2013 and will remain in place until modified. Its terms should be reviewed on a triannual basis.

Jean Boivin
Associate Deputy Minister and G7/G20 & Financial Stability Board Deputy,
Department of Finance

Tiff Macklem
Senior Deputy Governor,
Bank of Canada

Protocole d'entente sur la Gestion du risque de trésorerie et de crédit entre la Banque du Canada et le ministère des Finances

1. But

Le présent protocole d'entente (PE) a pour but d'énoncer le cadre de la politique fédérale de gestion du risque de trésorerie et de crédit, de même que les rôles et attributions convenus de la Banque du Canada et du ministère des Finances en ce qui touche la mise en œuvre du cadre.

2. Politique et principes

Le ministre des Finances est chargé de gérer les actifs et les passifs financiers du gouvernement du Canada, qui englobent une gamme d'activités de trésorerie susceptibles d'exposer ce dernier à des risques financiers, y compris le risque de marché, le risque de crédit, le risque opérationnel et le risque juridique. Le Ministre a approuvé une politique concernant la gestion du risque de trésorerie qui prend la forme de lignes directrices du gouvernement du Canada sur la gestion du risque de trésorerie (diffusées en mars 2000). Les grands principes énoncés dans la politique fédérale de gestion des risques sont les suivants :

3. Accent de la gestion du risque de trésorerie et de crédit

La politique de gestion du risque de trésorerie et de crédit traite des risques qui accompagnent les activités suivantes du gouvernement fédéral : les placements et le passif du Compte du fonds des changes (CFC); les opérations en devises et en or; le prêt de titres; les swaps de taux d'intérêt et de devises; et le cadre de gestion de la trésorerie du Receveur général.

4. Rôles et responsabilités

Le ministère des Finances et la Banque du Canada collaborent pour mettre en œuvre la politique fédérale de gestion des risques (énoncée dans les lignes directrices du gouvernement du Canada sur la gestion du risque de trésorerie), conformément aux principes énoncés dans la politique. À cette fin, la Banque du Canada et le ministère des Finances ont convenu d'un mécanisme intitulé Gestion de la trésorerie - Cadre de gouvernance (diffusé en octobre 2008).

Ce cadre prévoit la création d'un comité de gestion des fonds (CGF) chargé de conseiller le Ministre au sujet de la politique et de la stratégie, de superviser la mise en ouvre de la politique et des plans approuvés et de recevoir des rapports sur le rendement des titres de créance de gros, la gestion de la trésorerie, les réserves et le contrôle des risques.

Le CGF est appuyé par un Comité de gestion du risque (CGR) dans le cadre de l'exécution de son mandat touchant la gestion du risque de trésorerie. Le CGR est un organisme consultatif présidé conjointement par la Banque du Canada et le ministère des Finances. Il est chargé d'examiner le cadre de gestion des risques et de recommander son approbation par le CGF, d'étudier les rapports sur l'exposition aux risques, de déterminer les enjeux liés aux risques que doit connaître le CGF, de fournir des conseils sur les mesures recommandées afin d'atténuer ces risques et de prodiguer des conseils sur le volet risque des recommandations stratégiques présentées au CGF.

Afin d'étayer les travaux du CGR, la Banque et le ministère des Finances conviennent dans le cadre du présent PE de mettre sur pied un Bureau de surveillance des risques financiers (BSRF) à la Banque du Canada; cet organisme sera indépendant des activités de gestion des fonds de la Banque. Cette dernière est chargée de la dotation des postes et de l'attribution de ressources devant permettre au BSRF de s'acquitter de ses attributions.

Pour ce qui est des risques de trésorerie et de crédit indiqués à la section 3 du présent document, les attributions du BSRF consistent à évaluer, mesurer et à surveiller l'exposition au risque et à faire rapport sur le CFC et sur les soldes de trésorerie nationaux du receveur général, à conseiller les services opérationnels au sujet des risques associés aux initiatives stratégiques, et à formuler des conseils au CGR relativement aux principaux risques rattachés aux propositions formulées au CGF. En ce qui concerne plus particulièrement l’évaluation du risque de crédit, le BSFR effectuera des analyses de crédit fondamentales aux fins de l’établissement de la notation de crédit des contreparties effectuant les opérations et les placements. Ces notations de crédit seront établies par un comité interne indépendant de notation du risque à l’aide d’une méthode approuvée par le CGF. Les notations établies à l’interne serviront à établir les critères d’admissibilité et les limites de crédit, dans le cadre de la politique de gestion du risque du gouvernement.

Pour garantir l'utilisation efficace des ressources, le CGR recevra du BSRF : (i) des rapports périodiques sur l'exposition au risque touchant les activités de trésorerie pertinentes (section 3); (ii) l'apport du BSRF au volet risque des initiatives stratégiques; et (iii) des rapports périodiques sur les décisions prises par le Comité de notation du risque. Le Comité de gestion du risque examinera également et approuvera le plan de travail du BSRF au sujet des enjeux relatifs au CGR. Le BSRF est également chargé de préparer des rapports mensuels sur la gestion des risques et des réserves qui sont diffusés aux membres du CGR et aux gestionnaires axiaux.

Le BSRF est chargé de conserver et de fournir des renseignements et des données pour les Comptes publics, le communiqué mensuel du ministère des Finances sur les réserves officielles de liquidités internationales et pour certaines sections du Rapport annuel du gouvernement sur la gestion du Compte du fonds des changes, et de faire rapport sur l'exposition des sociétés d'État aux risques financiers.

Dans le cadre de ses fonctions courantes, le BSRF collabore étroitement avec l'équipe de la Gestion des réserves de change de la Banque et la Section de la gestion des réserves et des risques (GRR) du ministère des Finances pour que les opérations visant à financer et à placer les réserves de change du Canada respectent les seuils de tolérance au risque déterminées à l'avance et que les principaux risques rattachés aux nouvelles activités soient précisés à l'avance et gérés de façon prudente. De même, le BSRF collabore étroitement avec l'équipe des systèmes de trésorerie et de règlement de la Banque et avec la Section de la politique de gestion de la dette du ministère des Finances pour que les risques liés à l'encaisse intérieure soient gérés avec prudence.

5. Période visée

Le présent PE est en vigueur à compter du 1er avril 2013 et jusqu'à sa modification. Ses dispositions doivent être examinées à tous les trois ans.

Jean Boivin
Sous-ministre délégué et représentant du Canada auprès du G7/G20 et du Conseil de stabilité financière, 
Ministère des Finances 

Tiff Macklem
Premier sous-gouverneur,
Banque du Canada