Archived - Reports

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Review of Canadian Federal Fiscal Forecasting - Processes and Systems, Tim O'Neill, June 2005

The report was commissioned by the federal government to ensure that the most up-to-date economic and fiscal forecasting method continued to be used by the government and to benchmark Canadian practices against the best in the world. The primary objective of the report was to assess the accuracy of economic and fiscal forecasts and to determine what changes might improve accuracy and ultimately the conduct of public policy.

Recommendations related to the need for greater transparency in budget-related information, improving the accuracy and timeliness of data, consideration of fiscal rules and possible institutional changes to the forecast process.

The current budget planning framework reflects several of the recommendations made in the report.

PDF Version (764 KB)

How Do Canadian Budget Forecasts Compare with Those of Other Industrial Countries?, IMF, March 2005

The IMF study, carried out at the request of the Department of Finance, reviews federal budget forecasting and provides a comparison with other industrialized countries.

Overall, the study provides a positive assessment of Canada's budgeting practices and supports the Canadian approach to budget forecasting, including the use of input from a wide range of private sector forecasters.  It finds that Canada's forecasting process is governed by a strong institutional framework and is highly transparent compared to many other countries.

PDF Version (451 KB)

Rapports

« Examen des prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement du Canada – processus et systèmes », rédigé par Tim O’Neill et publié en juin 2005

Ce rapport a été commandé par le gouvernement fédéral pour veiller à ce qu’il continue d'utiliser les méthodes les plus à jour pour établir ses prévisions économiques et financières et pour évaluer comment les pratiques canadiennes se comparent aux meilleures au monde. Le principal but de ce rapport a été d’évaluer la précision des prévisions économiques et financières et de déterminer la façon dont il serait possible d’accroître cette précision et, en fin de compte, d'améliorer l'élaboration de la politique publique.

Les recommandations portaient sur la nécessité d’accroître la transparence de l’information relative au budget, l’amélioration de la précision et des délais de parution des données, la prise en considération des règles budgétaires et les changements institutionnels possibles au processus de prévisions.

Le cadre de planification budgétaire actuel tient compte de plusieurs recommandations formulées dans ce rapport.

Version PDF (764 KB) - disponible en anglais seulement


« How Do Canadian Budget Forecasts Compare with Those of Other Industrial Countries? », publié par le FMI en mars 2005

Cette étude, menée par le FMI à la demande du ministère des Finances, examine l’établissement des prévisions budgétaires par le gouvernement fédéral et le compare avec celui d'autres pays industrialisés.

Dans l’ensemble, cette étude fournit une évaluation positive des pratiques budgétaires du Canada et soutient l’approche canadienne d’établissement des prévisions budgétaires, y compris l’utilisation de données en provenance d’un large éventail de prévisionnistes du secteur privé. Elle constate que le processus d’établissement de prévisions du Canada est régi par un cadre institutionnel solide et constitue un exercice hautement transparent par rapport à celui de nombreux autres pays.

Version PDF (451 KB) - disponible en anglais seulement