Archived - Canada Signs Agreement to Combat International Tax Avoidance

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

June 7, 2017 – Paris, France – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is working to improve the tax system for all Canadians by ensuring that everyone pays their fair share. Taking action against tax loopholes is a way to instill confidence in Canada's tax system and drive economic growth for the middle class.

The Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance, Ginette Petitpas Taylor, joined representatives from a large number of other jurisdictions today in signing the Multilateral Convention to Implement Tax Treaty Related Measures to Prevent Base Erosion and Profit Shifting.

The Multilateral Convention will modify many of Canada's current tax treaties in order to implement the tax treaty-related measures developed by the joint Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and G20 project to counter base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS).

This is the culmination of several years of collaborative work by OECD and G20 countries to combat international tax avoidance.

BEPS refers to aggressive tax planning arrangements undertaken by multinational enterprises which, though legal, exploit the interaction between domestic and international tax rules to inappropriately reduce their taxes. For example, some enterprises will shift their taxable profits away from the jurisdiction where the underlying economic activity has taken place in order to avoid paying their fair share.

The signature of the Multilateral Convention supports the Government of Canada's commitment in Budgets 2016 and 2017 to enhance tax fairness and combat international tax avoidance. It is also consistent with commitments made by Canada and other OECD and G20 members to implement tax treaty-related BEPS measures, recognizing that widespread and consistent implementation of these measures is critical to the effectiveness of the BEPS project.

The Parliamentary Secretary will conclude her trip tomorrow by attending the OECD Ministerial Council Meeting.

Quote

"The Government of Canada continues to stand up for middle class families and all Canadians by ensuring a more fair tax system and combatting international tax avoidance. As an early signatory to this international agreement today, Canada is at the forefront of global action to improve international tax rules, and work towards a more fair and transparent tax system."

- Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le Canada signe un accord pour lutter contre l'évitement fiscal international

Le 7 juin 2017 – Paris, France – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'efforce d'améliorer le régime fiscal pour l'ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens en s'assurant que chacun paie sa juste part d'impôt. La prise de mesures pour éliminer des échappatoires fiscales représente un moyen d'inspirer la confiance de la population à l'égard du régime fiscal du Canada et de stimuler la croissance économique pour la classe moyenne.

La secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances, Ginette Petitpas Taylor, s'est jointe aux représentants d'un grand nombre d'autres administrations aujourd'hui pour signer la Convention multilatérale pour la mise en œuvre des mesures relatives aux conventions fiscales pour prévenir l'érosion de la base d'imposition et le transfert de bénéfices.

La Convention multilatérale modifiera bon nombre de conventions fiscales actuelles du Canada pour mettre en œuvre les mesures relatives aux conventions qui ont été élaborées dans le cadre du projet mixte de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et du G20 visant à contrer l'érosion de la base d'imposition et le transfert de bénéfices (BEPS).

Il s'agit de l'aboutissement de plusieurs années de travail collaboratif entre l'OCDE et les pays du G20 afin de lutter contre l'évitement fiscal international.

Le BEPS désigne les mécanismes de planification fiscale abusive auxquels ont recours des multinationales qui, bien qu'ils soient légaux, exploitent l'interaction entre les règles fiscales nationales et internationales afin de réduire indûment les impôts qu'elles doivent payer. Par exemple, afin d'éviter de payer leur juste part d'impôt, certaines entreprises transfèrent leurs bénéfices imposables à l'extérieur du territoire où l'activité économique sous-jacente a eu lieu.

La signature de la Convention multilatérale appuie l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada formulé dans les budgets de 2016 et de 2017 en vue d'accroître l'équité fiscale et de lutter contre l'évitement fiscal international. Elle est aussi conforme aux engagements pris par le Canada et d'autres membres de l'OCDE et du G20 afin de mettre en œuvre des mesures BEPS relatives aux conventions fiscales, reconnaissant que la mise en œuvre étendue et uniforme de ces mesures est essentielle à l'efficacité du projet BEPS.

La secrétaire parlementaire terminera son voyage demain en assistant à la Réunion du Conseil au niveau des Ministres de l'OCDE.

Citation

« Le gouvernement du Canada continue de défendre les intérêts des familles de la classe moyenne et de l'ensemble des Canadiens en assurant un régime fiscal plus équitable et en luttant contre l'évitement fiscal international. Aujourd'hui, le Canada, en tant que l'un des premiers signataires de cet accord international, est au premier rang de l'action mondiale visant à améliorer les règles fiscales internationales et à favoriser un régime fiscal plus équitable et plus transparent. »

- Ginette Petitpas Taylor, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés