Archived - International Monetary Fund Report Praises Canada's Approach of Investing in the Middle Class and the Economy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

May 31, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada has an ambitious plan to make smart investments that will create jobs, build modern, resilient neighbourhoods and communities, grow our economy, and provide more opportunities for the middle class and those working hard to join it.

Finance Minister Bill Morneau today welcomed the Concluding Statement of the International Monetary Fund's (IMF) annual Article IV Mission to Canada, which supports the Government's inclusive growth policies.

The IMF supports the Government's approach of making smart, responsible investments in people, communities and the economy to create long-term growth that is shared by the middle class and those working hard to join it.

Today's IMF report notes that the Canadian economy's renewed momentum is supported by these investments, and that the proposed Canada Infrastructure Bank has the potential to be an important and effective instrument to support infrastructure investment and stronger, long-term growth.

Quote

"The Government of Canada is committed to building a strong middle class and growing the economy over the long term. It is clear that our approach is working. In the past year, more than a quarter million people have been hired and the unemployment rate has fallen 0.6 percentage points to its lowest point since the 2008 global financial crisis. This morning, data shows that economic growth in the first quarter was robust, which is boosting middle class confidence. I am proud of the international recognition that our approach is receiving, and would like to thank the IMF for their analysis today. I look forward to continuing our good work together in promoting inclusive growth, both in Canada and around the world."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Un rapport du Fonds monétaire international fait l'éloge de l'approche du Canada consistant à investir dans la classe moyenne et dans l'économie

Le 31 mai 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada a un plan ambitieux visant à réaliser des investissements judicieux qui se traduiront par la création d'emplois, de communautés et de quartiers modernes et résilients, la croissance de notre économie et davantage de possibilités pour les membres de la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a accueilli favorablement aujourd'hui la publication de la déclaration finale de la mission de consultation annuelle au titre de l'article IV réalisée au Canada par le Fonds monétaire international (FMI). Cette déclaration appuie les politiques de croissance inclusive du gouvernement.

Le FMI appuie l'approche du gouvernement consistant à effectuer des investissements judicieux et responsables dans la population, dans les communautés et dans l'économie afin de favoriser une croissance durable qui est partagée par la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Selon le rapport du FMI présenté aujourd'hui, l'essor renouvelé de l'économie canadienne prend appui sur ces investissements, et la Banque de l'infrastructure du Canada qui est proposée a le potentiel d'être un instrument important et efficace pour soutenir l'investissement dans l'infrastructure et une croissance durable plus forte.

Citation

« Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à bâtir une classe moyenne forte et à assurer la croissance de l'économie de façon durable. Il est évident que notre approche fonctionne. Au cours de la dernière année, plus d'un quart de million de personnes ont trouvé un emploi, et le taux de chômage s'est replié de 0,6 point de pourcentage pour atteindre son niveau le plus bas depuis la crise financière mondiale de 2008. Des données publiées ce matin montrent que la croissance économique au premier trimestre a été robuste, ce qui a pour effet de stimuler la confiance de la classe moyenne. Je suis fier de la reconnaissance internationale obtenue par notre approche, et j'aimerais remercier le FMI de son analyse aujourd'hui. J'ai hâte de poursuivre ensemble notre bon travail qui consiste à promouvoir la croissance inclusive, à la fois au Canada et dans le monde entier. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés