Canada Supports G7 Work on Cyber Security

October 14, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government is committed to address the challenge of securing the financial system from cyber threats, to promote public confidence in the financial system and financial stability for middle class Canadians and their families.

In line with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau endorsed the G7 Fundamental Elements of Cybersecurity in the Financial Sector during G7 meetings in Washington, DC, earlier this month, and supported the continued work of the G7 to coordinate efforts to protect financial systems from cyber threats.

Officials from the Department of Finance Canada, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions and the Bank of Canada have been working with their G7 counterparts since last year on identifying measures to defend against cyber threats to the financial sector and best practices that could be applied across the G7. The Government of Canada is also currently conducting consultations on cyber security and a review to help identify gaps and opportunities, bring forward new ideas to shape Canada’s renewed approach to cyber security, and capitalize on the advantages of new technology and the digital economy.

Quick Facts

  • Canada has more computers per capita than any other country (129 devices per 100 people) and Canadians are the heaviest Internet users in the world, spending more than 40 hours online per person, per month.
  • About 70 per cent of Canadian businesses have been victims of cyber attacks with an average cost of $15,000 per incident.
  • The current global market for cyber security products and services is expected to grow to over $170 billion by 2020, and the job market for cyber professionals is expected to rise by six million in the next four years.

Quote

"Canada is committed to safeguarding the integrity of its world-class financial sector so Canadians can continue to prosper and be confident digital innovators. Our work with other advanced, industrialized economies on cyber security in the financial sector shows that we are following through on our pledge to make Canada a global centre for innovation."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Le Canada appuie les travaux du G7 en matière de cybersécurité

Le 14 octobre 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement s’est engagé à relever le défi consistant à protéger le système financier contre les cybermenaces afin de rehausser la confiance du public à l’égard du système financier et d’assurer une stabilité financière aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens de la classe moyenne et à leur famille.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a apporté son soutien aux éléments fondamentaux pour la cybersécurité du secteur financier mis de l’avant par le G7 plus tôt ce mois-ci, à l’occasion des réunions du G7 tenues à Washington. Le ministre a également appuyé le travail continu du G7, qui coordonne les efforts visant à protéger les systèmes financiers contre les cybermenaces.

Des représentants du ministère des Finances du Canada, du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières et de la Banque du Canada collaborent avec leurs homologues du G7 depuis l’an dernier, afin d’élaborer des mesures pour se défendre contre les cybermenaces qui pourraient toucher le secteur financier et de définir des pratiques exemplaires qui pourraient être adoptées au sein des pays membres du G7. De plus, le gouvernement du Canada mène des consultations et un examen sur la cybersécurité en vue de cerner les lacunes et les possibilités dans ce domaine, de formuler de nouvelles idées pour façonner l’approche renouvelée du Canada en matière de cybersécurité, et de mettre à profit les avantages des nouvelles technologies et de l’économie numérique.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Canada compte plus d’ordinateurs par habitant que tout autre pays (129 appareils par 100 personnes) et les Canadiens sont les plus grands utilisateurs d’Internet au monde; chaque personne passe plus de 40 heures en ligne par mois.
  • Environ 70 % des entreprises canadiennes ont été victimes de cyberattaques, à un coût moyen de 15 000 $ par incident.
  • On s’attend à ce que le marché mondial pour les produits et services de cybersécurité progresse pour atteindre plus de 170 milliards de dollars d’ici 2020; en outre, le marché du travail pour les professionnels en cybersécurité devrait connaître une hausse de six millions d’emplois au cours des quatre prochaines années.

Citations

« Le Canada est déterminé à protéger l'intégrité de son secteur financier de calibre mondial afin que les Canadiens puissent continuer de prospérer et d'avoir confiance en leur potentiel d'innovation dans le domaine numérique. Les efforts que nous déployons de concert avec d'autres pays industrialisés avancés en matière de cybersécurité dans le secteur financier indiquent que nous donnons suite à notre promesse de faire du Canada un centre mondial de l'innovation. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés