Archived - Canada Announces Contributions to IMF to Help Safeguard Global Economic Stability

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 8, 2016 – Washington, D.C. – Department of Finance Canada

Canada is committed to contributing to a stable global economy that benefits the middle class and those working hard to join it.

Finance Minister Bill Morneau today concluded his participation in the 2016 Annual Meetings of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank Group by announcing Canada’s contribution to two global financing initiatives. Along with contributions from other countries:

  • Canada will extend a temporary line of credit of approximately C$15 billion to the IMF to help maintain its ability to lend to countries in the event of a major global economic shock.
  • Canada will also provide repayable loans of approximately C$900 million to the IMF’s Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust, which will help ensure that the world’s poorest countries can adjust to economic shocks and create growth and development that benefit their citizens.

Minister Morneau and his international colleagues discussed ways to tackle global economic challenges and ensure countries and international institutions are equipped to respond to them. The Minister emphasized the importance of open trade and investment as a means of building strong and sustainable global growth and prosperity for the middle class and those working hard to join it.

Quote

“Canada is proud to be at the forefront of global efforts to build a stronger world economy. It is important for all countries to work together and to be open to international trade and investment. This will in turn create prosperity for the middle class and those working hard to join it. Canada’s contributions to the IMF will help ensure it has the resources it needs to be effective in maintaining global economic and financial stability.”

Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Associated Links

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Le Canada annonce le versement de contributions au FMI pour l’aider à protéger la stabilité de l’économie mondiale

Le 8 octobre 2016 – Washington, États-Unis – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le Canada est déterminé à contribuer à la stabilité d’une économie mondiale qui profite à la classe moyenne et à ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a conclu aujourd’hui sa participation aux assemblées annuelles de 2016 du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale en annonçant la participation du Canada à deux initiatives de financement de portée mondiale. En plus des contributions apportées par d’autres pays :

  • Le Canada offrira une ligne de crédit temporaire d’environ 15 milliards de dollars canadiens au FMI afin de l’aider à maintenir sa capacité d’accorder des prêts à des pays en cas de choc économique mondial majeur.
  • Le Canada fournira aussi des prêts remboursables d’environ 900 millions de dollars canadiens au Fonds de fiducie pour la réduction de la pauvreté et pour la croissance du FMI, afin que les pays les plus pauvres du monde puissent s’adapter aux chocs économiques et générer une croissance et un développement dont leurs citoyens bénéficieront. 

Le ministre Morneau et ses collègues internationaux ont discuté des façons dont on peut relever les défis économiques mondiaux ainsi que des façons dont on peut veiller à ce que les pays et les institutions internationales soient bien munis pour répondre à ces défis. Le ministre a souligné l’importance de l’ouverture aux échanges commerciaux et aux investissements comme moyen d’assurer une croissance et une prospérité mondiales fortes et durables qui profitent à la classe moyenne et à ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Citation

« Le Canada est fier d’être au premier rang des efforts déployés à l’échelle internationale pour bâtir une économie mondiale plus vigoureuse. Il est important que tous les pays collaborent et démontrent une ouverture au commerce et à l’investissement internationaux. Cette ouverture permettra de créer de la prospérité pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. Les contributions du Canada au FMI aideront à faire en sorte que le Fonds dispose des ressources dont il a besoin pour maintenir efficacement la stabilité économique et financière mondiale. »

Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés