Minister Morneau to Champion Middle Class Growth through Stronger Trade and Investment at G20 in China

July 22, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada’s approach for long-term economic growth and a stronger middle class is strengthened by cooperation with international partners which will lead to stronger global growth, greater equality and shared prosperity.

Finance Minister Bill Morneau will meet with his G20 counterparts this weekend in Chengdu, China to promote shared, inclusive growth, supported by trade and investment. The Minister will convey that a strong and growing middle class is pivotal to achieving long-term, sustainable and broad-based economic growth in Canada and around the world.

The Government began implementing its plan to invest and grow the economy by introducing a middle class tax cut for nine million Canadians, introducing the new Canada Child Benefit, which will give 9 out of 10 families with children higher monthly benefits, and by ensuring retirement security by strengthening the Canada Pension Plan. Historic investments in transit, green and social infrastructure will also create more and better jobs, cleaner communities and a better quality of life for all.

During G20 meetings, Minister Morneau will emphasize the need for the G20 to stand ready to respond to challenges and manage risks over the short term, as well as work toward inclusive growth for all citizens.

As co-chair of the G20 Framework Working Group for Strong, Sustainable and Balanced Growth, Canada has been instrumental in encouraging G20 countries to continue with their growth strategies.

Quote

“I look forward to continuing to work with the G20 to create long-term, inclusive growth and prosperity that will benefit the middle class, and those working hard to join it. Canada’s pro-trade and pro-investment approach, focused on people, serves as a strong model within the G20. Together, we can create the kind of world where everyone can prosper.”

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5697

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau fera la promotion d’une croissance avantageuse pour la classe moyenne par le raffermissement du commerce et de l’investissement au G20 en Chine

Le 22 juillet 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

L’approche du gouvernement du Canada pour la croissance économique durable et une classe moyenne plus forte est renforcée par la collaboration avec les partenaires internationaux du pays; une telle approche mènera à une croissance mondiale plus vigoureuse, à une plus grande égalité et à une prospérité partagée.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, rencontrera ses homologues du G20 cette fin de semaine à Chengdu, en Chine, pour promouvoir une croissance partagée et inclusive soutenue par le commerce et l’investissement. Le ministre transmettra le message selon lequel une classe moyenne forte et grandissante est essentielle à une croissance économique durable, viable et diversifiée au Canada et partout dans le monde.

Le gouvernement a commencé à mettre en œuvre son plan d’investissement et de croissance économique en mettant en œuvre une baisse d’impôt pour la classe moyenne touchant 9 millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens, en instaurant la nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants, qui permettra à 9 familles sur 10 qui ont des enfants de recevoir des prestations mensuelles plus élevées, et en assurant une sécurité financière à la retraite par le renforcement du Régime de pensions du Canada. De plus, des investissements sans précédent dans les infrastructures verte, sociale et du transport en commun se traduiront par des emplois meilleurs et plus nombreux, des collectivités plus propres et une amélioration de la qualité de vie pour tous.

Aux réunions du G20, le ministre Morneau mettra l’accent sur la nécessité pour le G20 de se tenir prêt à relever les défis et à gérer les risques à court terme, de même qu’à œuvrer en vue d’assurer une croissance inclusive pour tous les citoyens.

En tant que coprésident du groupe de travail sur le Cadre du G20 pour une croissance forte, durable et équilibrée, le Canada a joué un rôle déterminant en encourageant les pays du G20 à poursuivre leurs stratégies de croissance.

Citation

« Je me réjouis à l’idée de continuer à travailler avec les autres membres du G20 en vue d’engendrer une croissance et une prospérité durables et inclusives qui profiteront à la classe moyenne et à ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. L’approche canadienne favorable au commerce et à l’investissement, qui est centrée sur les gens, peut servir de modèle par excellence au sein du G20. Ensemble, nous pouvons créer un monde où tous peuvent prospérer. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5697

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés