Statement by the Minister of Finance Regarding the Referendum on the United Kingdom's Membership in the European Union

June 24, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Minister of Finance today issued the following statement on the results of the referendum on the membership of the United Kingdom (UK) in the European Union (EU):

“Earlier today, I spoke with my G7 Finance Minister colleagues and Central Bank Governors as we continue to closely monitor developments in the world economy and global markets following results of the referendum, and we reaffirmed our confidence in the UK’s economy and financial sector.

“While some market and economic volatility can be expected, the Canadian economy is well placed and our financial institutions are well funded. Global markets are resilient and orderly, and we will continue to monitor developments in the world economy.

“We respect the choice of the British people and will remain a strong partner of the UK and the EU. Our shared histories make us natural trading partners, and I look forward to maintaining those close economic ties.”

Associated Links

Stay Connected

Déclaration du ministre des Finances au sujet du référendum sur l'appartenance du Royaume-Uni à l'Union européenne

Le 24 juin 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le ministre des Finances a émis la déclaration suivante aujourd’hui au sujet des résultats du référendum du Royaume-Uni sur son appartenance à l’Union européenne :

« Plus tôt aujourd’hui, j’ai parlé avec mes collègues, les ministres des Finances du G7, ainsi qu’avec les gouverneurs des banques centrales alors que nous continuons de suivre de près l’évolution de l’économie mondiale et des marchés mondiaux à la suite de la publication des résultats du référendum, et nous réaffirmons notre confiance dans l’économie et le secteur financier du Royaume-Uni.

« Bien qu’on puisse s’attendre à une volatilité de l’économie et du marché, l’économie canadienne est en position favorable et nos institutions financières sont bien capitalisées. Les marchés mondiaux sont résilients et fonctionnent normalement, et nous continuerons de suivre l’évolution des effets du vote sur l’économie mondiale et les marchés mondiaux.

« Nous respectons la décision de la population britannique et nous demeurerons un partenaire important du Royaume-Uni et de l’Union européenne. Notre passé commun fait de nous des partenaires commerciaux naturels, et je me réjouis à la perspective de continuer à entretenir ces liens économiques étroits. »

Liens connexes

Restez branchés