Minister Morneau Announces Measures to Improve Territorial Formula Financing

February 16, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario– Department of Finance

As part of the renewed spirit of collaboration with provinces and territories, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced that the Government of Canada will introduce legislative amendments to improve the stability and predictability of federal Territorial Formula Financing payments and address the impact of a recent Statistics Canada data revision. This will provide an additional $67 million to the territories compared to the amounts calculated in December 2015.

The proposed changes will enable the Government to recalculate 2016–17 Territorial Formula Financing payments on the basis of the proposed legislative amendments, and help better support the territories in their financial planning by providing more predictability and stability.

Quotes

"At the December meeting of Canada’s Finance Ministers, we promised to work with the territorial governments to identify options for addressing the impact of recent data revisions on territorial financial planning. Working with the three governments, and thanks to the tireless advocacy of the Members of Parliament for all three territories, I am pleased to bring forward a solution that will not only help mitigate the effects of this data revision in the immediate term; it will also improve and strengthen the program over the long term by making Territorial Formula Financing payments more stable and predictable going forward."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

"Today's proposed fix to the Territorial Formula Financing program will provide the North with more financial resources in the short term, and the fiscal stability and predictability we will need to grow and share in the prosperity that our great land and people hold."

- Michael McLeod, MP for the Northwest Territories

"This is an important step for Canada’s North and I appreciate the leadership shown by Minister Morneau in addressing this issue in a constructive and collaborative way. These positive changes demonstrate a commitment, not only to the future of Canada’s North, but also towards a principled and productive relationship with provincial and territorial governments."

-Hunter Tootoo, MP for Nunavut and Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

"I am proud to be a part of a Government that is dedicated to investing in Canada’s North as it grows and prospers while taking on more power and responsibility for its future."

- Larry Bagnell, MP for Yukon

Quick Facts

  • Territorial Formula Financing (TFF) provides the territorial governments with an unconditional annual grant to enable them to provide a range of public services comparable to those offered by provincial governments at comparable levels of taxation.
  • The federal government will provide over $3.5 billion in funding to the territories in 2016–17 through TFF.
  • TFF accounts for a significant share of territorial budgets: in 2015–16, it represented 70, 68 and 80 per cent of total territorial revenues for Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut respectively.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau annonce des mesures en vue d'améliorer la formule de financement des territoires

Le 16 février 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Dans un esprit de collaboration renouvelé avec les provinces et les territoires, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada présenterait des modifications législatives visant à améliorer la stabilité et la prévisibilité des paiements fédéraux versés au titre de la formule de financement des territoires (FFT) et à atténuer l’incidence d’une révision récente des données de Statistique Canada. Les modifications se traduiront par une hausse de 67 millions de dollars des transferts aux territoires par rapport aux sommes calculées en décembre 2015.

Les changements proposés permettraient au gouvernement de refaire le calcul des paiements de 2016-2017 aux territoires au titre de la FFT selon la nouvelle méthode proposée, ce qui appuierait davantage la planification financière des territoires en offrant à ceux-ci une stabilité et une prévisibilité accrues.

Citations

« À la réunion de décembre des ministres des Finances du Canada, nous avons promis de collaborer avec les gouvernements territoriaux afin de cerner les options possibles pour régler la question de l'incidence des récentes révisions des données sur leur planification financière. En collaboration avec les trois gouvernements et à la suite d'interventions soutenues des députés fédéraux des trois territoires, je suis heureux de présenter une solution qui permettra non seulement d'atténuer dans l'immédiat les effets de cette révision des données, mais aussi d'améliorer et de renforcer le programme de la formule de financement des territoires à long terme en rendant les paiements plus stables et plus prévisibles à l'avenir. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

« Le changement au programme de la formule de financement des territoires qui est proposé aujourd'hui apportera plus de ressources financières au Nord à court terme ainsi que la stabilité et la prévisibilité budgétaires dont nous avons besoin pour croître et partager la prospérité que détiennent les terres et les habitants de nos grands territoires. »

- Michael McLeod, député des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

« C’est une mesure importante pour le Nord canadien, et je suis reconnaissant du leadership dont a fait preuve le ministre Morneau en traitant cette question de manière constructive et collaborative. Ces améliorations témoignent non seulement d’un engagement envers l’avenir du Nord, mais aussi envers une relation productive et fondée sur des principes avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. »

- Hunter Tootoo, député du Nunavut et ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne

« Je suis fier de faire partie d’un gouvernement qui se dévoue pour investir dans le Nord canadien à mesure qu’il se développera et deviendra plus prospère tout en assumant plus de pouvoirs et de responsabilités quant à son avenir. »

- Larry Bagnell, député du Yukon

Les faits en bref

  • La FFT procure aux gouvernements des territoires un paiement de transfert annuel inconditionnel afin de leur permettre d’assurer la prestation d’un éventail de services publics comparable à ceux offerts par les provinces, moyennant des niveaux d’imposition et de taxation comparables.

  • Le gouvernement fédéral versera un financement de plus de 3,5 milliards de dollars aux territoires en 2016-2017 en vertu de la FFT.

  • La FFT représente une part importante des budgets des territoires. En 2015-2016, elle correspond à 70 %, à 68 % et à 80 % du total des revenus du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut, respectivement.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-286-5697

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés