Finance Ministers Meet to Grow the Economy

December 20, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

In a renewed spirit of collaboration, and with a focus on economic growth, job creation and a strong middle class, Canada's federal, provincial and territorial Finance Ministers will meet in Ottawa tonight and tomorrow. The annual meeting's agenda will touch on:

  • Making historic investments in infrastructure to create jobs, grow the economy and address the urgent priorities of provinces, territories and municipalities.
  • Helping Canadians realize their goal of a secure retirement through enhancements to the Canada Pension Plan.
  • Lifting hundreds of thousands of children out of poverty through the introduction of the new Canada Child Benefit, and providing more support for 9 out of 10 Canadian families.

The Government of Canada is committed to working with all provinces, territories and municipalities to address the pressing challenges we all face. Canadians expect us to work together on everything from delivering on good-paying jobs to reliable transit, bridges and roads.

In support of other crucial priorities, including the provision of health care, post-secondary education, social assistance and social services, early childhood development and child care, Finance Minister Bill Morneau announced today that the Government of Canada will be providing a record high of nearly $71 billion to provinces and territories in 2016–17. Canada’s provincial and territorial Finance Ministers have been sent letters with their official federal transfer amounts for 2016–17. These letters are being released publicly for the first time.

Quote

“Nothing is more important right now than growing the economy and making sure middle class Canadian families have what they need to succeed. Good-paying jobs, reliable transit, a secure retirement—these are the things that we will discuss as we work together towards sustainable, long-term growth. I look forward to my first meeting with my colleagues so we can address these important issues for all Canadians.”

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • Tomorrow's session of the Finance Ministers Meeting will also include a presentation by Bank of Canada Governor Stephen Poloz on the global economy and Canadian monetary policy.
  • The Government of Canada provides significant financial support to provincial and territorial governments on an ongoing basis to assist them in the provision of programs and services.
  • There are four main transfer programs: the Canada Health Transfer (CHT), the Canada Social Transfer (CST), Equalization and Territorial Formula Financing (TFF).
  • The CHT and CST are federal transfers which support specific policy areas such as health care, post-secondary education, social assistance and social services, early childhood development and child care.
  • The Equalization and TFF programs provide unconditional transfers to the provinces and territories.
  • Equalization enables less prosperous provincial governments to provide their residents with public services that are reasonably comparable to those in other provinces, at reasonably comparable levels of taxation.
  • TFF provides territorial governments with funding to support public services, in recognition of the higher cost of providing programs and services in the north.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Daniel Lauzon
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Les ministres des Finances se réunissent pour assurer la croissance de l’économie

Le 20 décembre 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

C’est dans un esprit de collaboration renouvelé et avec l’attention portée sur la croissance économique, la création d’emplois et une classe moyenne forte que les ministres des Finances fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada se réuniront à Ottawa ce soir et demain. L’ordre du jour de cette réunion annuelle aborde les questions suivantes :

  • effectuer des investissements sans précédent dans l’infrastructure afin de créer des emplois, de faire croître l’économie et de donner suite aux priorités urgentes des provinces, des territoires et des municipalités;
  • aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à réaliser leur objectif de sécurité du revenu à la retraite en améliorant le Régime de pensions du Canada;
  • contribuer à sortir des centaines de milliers d’enfants de la pauvreté grâce à l’instauration de la nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants, qui offrira un soutien accru à 9 familles canadiennes sur 10.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à collaborer avec l’ensemble des provinces, des territoires et des municipalités pour relever les défis pressants auxquels nous sommes tous confrontés. Les Canadiens s’attendent à une collaboration des pouvoirs publics sur un vaste éventail d’enjeux, dont la création d’emplois bien rémunérés et la fiabilité du transport en commun, des ponts et des routes.

Afin d’appuyer d’autres priorités névralgiques, notamment les soins de santé, l’éducation postsecondaire, l’aide sociale et les services sociaux, le développement de la petite enfance et la garde d’enfants, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada versera près de 71 milliards de dollars aux provinces et aux territoires en 2016-2017, ce qui constitue un montant sans précédent. Les ministres des Finances des provinces et des territoires du Canada ont reçu des lettres indiquant les montants officiels des transferts fédéraux destinés à leurs administrations respectives pour 2016-2017. Ces lettres sont rendues publiques pour la première fois.

Citation

« Il n’y a rien de plus important en ce moment que de faire croître l’économie et de s’assurer que les familles canadiennes de la classe moyenne ont ce dont ils ont besoin pour réussir. Des emplois bien rémunérés, un transport en commun fiable, une retraite sûre – voilà les sujets que nous aborderons dans le cadre de cette collaboration en vue d’une croissance durable à long terme. Je me réjouis à la perspective de ma première réunion avec mes homologues, réunion au cours de laquelle nous traiterons de ces enjeux importants pour tous les Canadiens. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La séance de demain de la réunion des ministres des Finances comprendra une présentation du gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, Stephen Poloz, sur l’économie mondiale et la politique monétaire du Canada.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada accorde en permanence un important soutien financier aux provinces et aux territoires pour les aider à offrir des programmes et des services.
  • Il y a quatre grands programmes de transfert : le Transfert canadien en matière de santé (TCS), le Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux (TCPS), la péréquation et la formule de financement des territoires (FFT).
  • Le TCS et le TCPS constituent des transferts fédéraux qui appuient des domaines stratégiques précis comme les soins de santé, l’éducation postsecondaire, l’aide sociale et les services sociaux, le développement de la petite enfance et la garde d’enfants.
  • Le Programme de péréquation et la FFT fournissent des transferts inconditionnels aux provinces et aux territoires.
  • La péréquation permet aux gouvernements provinciaux moins prospères de fournir à leurs résidents des services publics sensiblement comparables à ceux des autres provinces et à des niveaux d’imposition sensiblement comparables.
  • La FFT assure aux territoires une aide financière qui tient compte des coûts plus élevés associés à la prestation des programmes et des services dans le Nord.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Daniel Lauzon
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés