Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Financial Sector Policy Branch

The Branch is responsible for providing policy analysis on Canada's financial sector and on the regulation of federally chartered financial institutions (banks, trust companies, insurance companies, credit unions and other financial institutions). It also manages the federal government's borrowing program and provides support to the Minister regarding Crown corporation borrowings and financial market and exchange rate policy.

The Branch is composed of four divisions.

Financial Sector Division

This division develops and evaluates policies on the regulatory framework for Canada's financial institutions and is composed of four sections.

Financial Sector Stability

This section provides policy advice and analysis on financial regulatory and stability issues, domestically and internationally, in consultation with the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI), the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) and the Bank of Canada. It also coordinates Canada's position on international regulatory and supervisory issues at the Financial Stability Board, G7/G8 and G20.

Payments and pensions

This section provides policy advice on payments system clearing and settlement issues. It also provides policy advice and analysis respecting the regulation and supervision of federally registered pension plans in consultation with OSFI.

Financial Crimes

Work in this area is divided between two sections, which develop and analyze policies related to combating money-laundering and the financing of terrorism. The International Section supports Canada's international role in combating financial crime and terrorism financing. The Domestic Section is responsible for developing policies and coordinating domestic efforts in respect of Canada's anti-money-laundering and anti-terrorist-financing regime, including the implementation of international standards. Both sections work closely with the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), law enforcement and other government departments and agencies.

Financial Markets Division

This division is made up of four sections, which together provide policy analysis and advice on the federal government's financing operations and on financial market developments.

Capital Markets Section

This section is responsible for monitoring and advising on developments in capital markets and formulating policy responses on issues such as access to financing, exchanges, securitization markets, derivatives, new instruments, and major investment funds. The section is also responsible for providing advice on the legislative framework and governance of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board.

Government Financing

This section provides analysis and policy advice on Crown corporation borrowing, risk management, governance, and related activities; on government loans, loan guarantees and special purpose borrowings; circulating currency; and the investment of government funds by foundations and endowments. It also manages a lending desk that provides direct loans to certain Crown corporations.

Debt Management Policy

This section provides policy analysis and advice relating to the management of the government's market debt and cash balances; directs and oversees the implementation of the borrowing program; and prepares official reports on debt management. The section works collaboratively with the Bank of Canada as fiscal agent of the government.

Reserves and Risk Management

This section provides policy analysis and advice on the investment of Canada's international reserves and the management of the risks associated with the government's foreign financial assets and liabilities. It works with the Bank of Canada to implement policy decisions and carry out operations related to foreign borrowing and investing.

Financial Institutions Division

The Division's mandate is to provide analysis and advice on structural, consumer and competition issues, as well as advice on transactions requiring ministerial approval, including potential mergers. In collaboration with the Financial Sector Division, it is also responsible for regularly updating financial sector legislation and regulations. The Division is made up of four sections.

Competition Issues and Transactions

This section monitors and advises on major financial transactions, including mergers and acquisitions. It provides advice on the government's mortgage insurance guarantee. It also conducts research and analyzes trends within the financial sector, including financial institutions' corporate strategies and performance.

Strategic Planning and Trade

This section is responsible for strategic planning and communications related to financial sector issues and priorities, including legislative and regulatory reforms, and for policy development related to credit unions. In addition, this section is responsible for the federal government's relations with foreign governments in the area of financial services.

Consumer Issues

This section is responsible for consumer-related issues in the financial services sector. It develops policies and legislation in such areas as access to financial services, disclosure of service fees and initiatives to promote financial literacy.

Structural Issues

This section develops policy on structural issues related to corporate organization, permitted activities, and regulation of financial institutions. Specifically, it provides policy advice on ownership, investments, foreign entrants and corporate governance.

Securities Policy Division

This division helps formulate Department policy on the regulation of securities within the overall structure of financial regulation in Canada. The Division will help to establish a Canadian securities regulator and the supporting legislation.

Currently, the Division comprises one section:

Securities Regulation, Intergovernmental Affairs And Coordination

This section undertakes regulatory policy analysis and provides advice on issues related to securities content and rules, including drafting of legislation, working with the transition team (Transition Office to a Canadian Securities Regulator) on setting up the organization and working with the transition team on merging securities rules. Additionally, the section provides policy advice in regard to the federal government’s relations with provincial and territorial governments in the area of financial services, and monitors and advises on domestic capital market policies to ensure coherence of financial sector regulation in Canada.

Direction de la politique du secteur financier

La Direction de la politique du secteur financier analyse la politique relative au secteur financier canadien et à la réglementation des institutions financières constituées sous le régime d’une loi fédérale (banques, sociétés de fiducie, sociétés d’assurances, coopératives de crédit, etc.). De plus, elle gère le programme d’emprunts du gouvernement du Canada et offre un soutien au Ministre en matière d’emprunts des sociétés d’État et de la politique touchant les marchés financiers et le taux de change.

Elle se compose de quatre divisions.

Division du secteur financier

Cette division élabore et évalue les politiques relatives au cadre de réglementation des institutions financières du Canada. Elle compte quatre sections.

Stabilité du secteur financier

Cette section fournit des conseils stratégiques et effectue des analyses sur des questions ayant trait à la réglementation financière et à la stabilité du secteur financier à l’échelle nationale et internationale, en consultation avec le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF), la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada et la Banque du Canada. De plus, elle coordonne les énoncés de la position canadienne concernant des enjeux internationaux en matière de réglementation et de surveillance dans le cadre des travaux du Conseil de stabilité financière, du Groupe des Sept (G7), du G8 et du G20.

Paiements et pensions

Cette section fournit des conseils stratégiques sur les questions liées au système de compensation et de règlement des paiements. Elle offre aussi des conseils stratégiques et effectue des analyses concernant la réglementation et la surveillance des régimes de pension agréés sous réglementation fédérale, en consultation avec le BSIF.

Crimes financiers

Les activités de la Direction dans le domaine des crimes financiers sont réparties entre deux sections, qui élaborent et analysent des politiques de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme. La section internationale se consacre au rôle du Canada dans la lutte internationale contre les crimes financiers et le financement du terrorisme, tandis que la section nationale est responsable de l’élaboration de politiques et de la coordination des efforts nationaux dans le cadre du régime canadien de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes, notamment la mise en application de normes internationales. Les deux sections collaborent étroitement avec le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada, les organismes d’exécution de la loi et d’autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux.

Division des marchés financiers

Cette division se compose de quatre sections qui effectuent des analyses stratégiques et fournissent des conseils au sujet des opérations de financement de l’administration fédérale et de l’évolution des marchés financiers.

Politique des marchés financiers

Cette section est responsable de la surveillance des marchés de capitaux et de la formulation de conseils à ce sujet. Elle élabore des approches stratégiques relativement à des domaines tels que l’accès au financement, les bourses, le marché de la titrisation, les instruments dérivés, les nouveaux instruments et les grands fonds de placement. De plus, elle fournit des conseils sur le cadre législatif et la gouvernance de l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada.

Financement du secteur public

Cette section effectue des analyses et fournit des conseils stratégiques sur les emprunts des sociétés d’État, la gestion du risque, la gouvernance et les activités connexes, de même que sur les emprunts de l’État, les garanties de prêt et les emprunts à des fins spéciales, ainsi que la monnaie en circulation et le placement de fonds de l’État dans des dotations et fondations. Elle gère aussi un « comptoir de prêts » accordant des prêts directs à certaines sociétés d’État.

Politique de gestion de la dette

Cette section procède à des analyses stratégiques et fournit des conseils à propos de la gestion de la dette contractée sur les marchés et des soldes de trésorerie du gouvernement. Elle régit et supervise l’exécution du programme d’emprunts, et elle prépare les rapports officiels sur la gestion de la dette. Elle collabore avec la Banque du Canada, en sa qualité d’agent financier du gouvernement.

Gestion des réserves et des risques

Cette section procède à des analyses stratégiques et fournit des conseils concernant le placement des réserves de liquidités internationales du Canada et la gestion des risques associés aux actifs et passifs du gouvernement libellés en devises. Elle collabore avec la Banque du Canada afin de mettre en application les décisions stratégiques du gouvernement et d’exécuter des opérations d’emprunt et de placement en devises.

Division des institutions financières

Cette division a pour mandat d’effectuer des analyses et de fournir des conseils sur des questions d’ordre structurel et sur des enjeux reliés aux consommateurs et à la concurrence. Elle fournit aussi des conseils sur des opérations devant être approuvées au niveau ministériel, notamment dans le cas de fusions éventuelles. Il lui incombe également, en collaboration avec la Division du secteur financier, de mettre à jour périodiquement les lois et règlements régissant le secteur financier. La Division comprend quatre sections.

Concurrence et transactions

Cette section exerce une surveillance et fournit des conseils à l’égard d’opérations financières importantes, par exemple des fusions et des acquisitions. Elle formule des conseils au sujet de la garantie d’assurance hypothécaire accordée par le gouvernement. Elle mène des recherches et des analyses sur les tendances qui se manifestent dans le secteur financier, entre autres en ce qui touche les stratégies organisationnelles et le rendement des institutions financières.

Planification stratégique et commerce

Cette section est responsable de la planification stratégique et des communications ayant trait aux dossiers et aux priorités qui concernent le secteur financier, par exemple les réformes législatives et réglementaires, ainsi que de l’élaboration de la politique relative aux coopératives de crédit. Ses responsabilités englobent également les relations du gouvernement du Canada avec les États étrangers en matière de services financiers.

Questions touchant les consommateurs

Cette section se penche sur les questions relatives aux consommateurs de services financiers. Elle élabore des politiques et des instruments législatifs portant sur des questions comme l’accès aux services financiers, la communication des frais de service et les initiatives de promotion de la littératie financière.

Questions structurelles

Cette section élabore des politiques portant sur des questions structurelles liées à l’organisation et à la réglementation des institutions financières et aux activités autorisées. Plus précisément, elle formule des conseils stratégiques sur des thèmes comme la propriété, les placements, les entreprises nouvellement établies et la gouvernance des institutions.

Division des politiques en matière de valeurs mobilières

Cette division appuie la formulation de la politique ministérielle en matière de réglementation des valeurs mobilières dans le cadre de la structure de réglementation financière au Canada. Elle participera à la mise sur pied d’un organisme canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières et à l’élaboration des dispositions législatives habilitantes à cet égard.

Elle compte actuellement une section.

Réglementation des valeurs mobilières, affaires intergouvernementales et coordination

Cette section analyse la politique de réglementation et fournit des conseils en matière de valeurs mobilières sur des questions reliées au contenu de celles-ci et aux règles qui s’y appliquent. Cela comprend la rédaction de dispositions législatives et la collaboration avec l’équipe du Bureau de transition vers un régime canadien de réglementation des valeurs mobilières en vue de mettre sur pied l’organisme canadien de réglementation et en vue d’intégrer les ensembles de règles distincts qui s’appliquent aux valeurs mobilières. Elle fournit aussi des conseils stratégiques au sujet des relations du gouvernement du Canada avec les administrations provinciales et territoriales dans le domaine des services financiers. Également, elle exerce une surveillance et formule des conseils à l’égard des politiques concernant les marchés de capitaux intérieurs, de manière à assurer la cohérence de la réglementation du secteur financier au Canada.