Archived - Report of the Expert Panel for the Children's Fitness Tax Credit

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

finance - image K. Kellie Leitch, MD, MBA, FRCS (C)
Chair/Chief, Division of Paediatric Surgery
Paediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon
Email: kellie.leitch@lhsc.on.ca
Tel: 519-685-8021
Fax: 519-685-8038
Room: E2-620D

October 26, 2006

Dear Minister Flaherty:

As members of Finance Canada’s Expert Panel for the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit, we are pleased to present our recommendations, and we are confident of the positive impact this policy will have on Canadian children and their families.

Encouraging families to help their children to become physically active is an important goal, and one that is becoming increasingly important.

There are alarming statistical reminders within our report regarding the prevalence and impact of childhood obesity. This obesity "epidemic" is – in part – a function of the dramatic societal changes that we have experienced only relatively recently. Within the past hundred years, people have experienced radical changes in their diet, become frequent users of motorized transportation, seen great shifts away from primarily physical labour to work that is far more intellectually-focused, and undergone a tremendous rise in more sedentary leisure activities than ever before.

The forces working against greater health and fitness are not malevolent, but rather day-to-day realities faced by modern civilization.

Encouraging more physical activity, sport, and fitness within our culture is a complex, multi-faceted, and challenging issue. While we do not pretend that the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit will be a panacea that will end most childhood obesity, we passionately believe the tax credit is an important component of what must be a broader strategy to encourage activity among young people. The tax credit can be a catalyst that supports programs for children, increased levels of activity, and hopefully – a lifelong love of active lifestyles for thousands of young Canadians.

The Children’s Fitness Tax Credit is one component of an overall strategy in which government is a catalyst, but not necessarily an active player in all cases. While government has an important role to play, the solutions will not come from government alone. The most powerful driver of new, more active behaviours will be parental and peer influences.

Through this tax credit, the Federal Government is helping to encourage children to get into the habit of daily physical activity. Stakeholders have informed us that this physical activity habit – once started – is one that people often maintain their entire lives.

We have seen great progress in social behaviour when it comes to drinking and driving, and we are beginning to see similar results when it comes to smoking. It is our hope that similar behavioural change will improve childhood fitness, and eventually the health and well-being of our population.

Over the course of our work, we received input from small, local grassroots organizations, up to and including national physical activity associations. One common thread united those with whom we met: their passion for children’s physical activity and recreation.

Recreational physical activities are driven by volunteers in communities across Canada. And while we are excited about the potential of this tax credit to enhance what is already happening today, we would caution against anything that has the unintended consequence of reducing grassroots volunteerism that supports physical activities and sports. The policy details of this tax credit must be designed to support volunteers, and encourage more volunteerism.

Let the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit be a start. Let it inspire more and greater physical activity among our nation’s young people. And let Canada be recognized as a world leader in childhood fitness and physical activity.

Sincerely,

 

Dr. K. Kellie Leitch
Chair, Expert Panel for the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit

Chair/Chief, Division of Paediatric Surgery/Assistant Dean (External),
Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Western Ontario

Co-Director, Health Sector MBA Program, Ivey School of Business,
University of Western Ontario

Mr. David Bassett
Senior Investment Advisor
Scotia McLeod
Mr. Michael Weil
President and Chief Executive Officer
YMCA Canada

Children’s Hospital of Western Ontario 
London Health Sciences Centre
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 5010, 800 
Commissioners Rd. E., London, Ontario, N6A 5W9
Healthy Children: our goal, our future.


Table of Contents

Summary of Recommendations 

Getting Children Active:
The Purpose of the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit 

Definition 

Issues Presented to the Expert Panel 

Recommendations 

Issue for Future Consideration 

Endnotes 

Acknowledgements 

Appendices

Archivé - Rapport du Groupe d'experts sur le crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.





 

finance - image

K. Kellie Leitch, MD, MBA, FRCS (C)
Chair/Chief, Division of Paediatric Surgery
Paediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon
Email: kellie.leitch@lhsc.on.ca
Tel: 519-685-8021
Fax: 519-685-8038
Room: E2-620D

Le 26 octobre 2006

Monsieur le Ministre,

En tant que membres du Groupe d’experts sur le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants, nous sommes heureux de vous présenter nos recommandations, et ce avec la conviction que cette politique aura des retombées positives pour les enfants et les familles du Canada.

Il est important d’encourager les familles à guider leurs enfants vers l’activité physique, et cet objectif est de plus en plus important.

Dans notre rapport, vous trouverez des statistiques alarmantes sur la prévalence et l’effet de l’obésité chez les enfants. Cette « épidémie » est partiellement attribuable à d’importants changements sociétaux survenus relativement récemment. Depuis un siècle, le régime alimentaire de la population a radicalement changé et les gens sont devenus des habitués des transports motorisés. Le travail manuel, autrefois la norme, a été graduellement dépassé par le travail intellectuel. Finalement, ces changements ont suscité une hausse sans précédent des loisirs et activités sédentaires.

La bonne santé et le conditionnement physique ne sont pas mis en péril par des forces malveillantes, mais plutôt par les réalités quotidiennes du monde moderne.

Dans notre culture, encourager le sport et l’activité physique est une tâche complexe, ardue, et aux facettes multiples. Sans prétendre que le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants sera la solution miracle pour résoudre en grande partie l’obésité chez les enfants, nous avons la conviction que c’est un élément important d’une stratégie plus large visant à encourager nos jeunes à être actifs. Ce crédit d’impôt peut être un catalyseur à l’appui des programmes pour enfants, à la pratique accrue de l’activité physique et, nous le souhaitons, à un goût des Canadiens et Canadiennes de maintenir un style de vie actif leur vie durant.

Le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants est donc un élément d’une stratégie d’ensemble où le gouvernement agit comme catalyseur, sans nécessairement jouer un rôle actif dans tous les cas. Le gouvernement joue un rôle important, certes, mais les solutions doivent aussi venir d’ailleurs. Chez les enfants, les parents et les pairs restent le principal élément moteur de nouveaux comportements axés davantage sur l’activité physique.

Le gouvernement fédéral, au moyen de ce crédit d’impôt, fera sa part pour encourager les enfants à prendre l’habitude de pratiquer quotidiennement une activité physique. Les intervenants nous disent qu’une telle habitude, une fois ancrée, est souvent conservée pour toute la vie.

On constate déjà une évolution remarquable du comportement social pour ce qui est de l’alcool au volant et nous constatons les débuts de changements semblables en ce qui concerne le tabagisme. Nous espérons qu’il en ira de même pour la condition physique des enfants et, éventuellement, pour la santé et le bien-être de l’ensemble de la population.

Les petits organismes populaires et les organisations locales, tout comme les associations nationales qui prônent l’activité physique, nous ont communiqué leurs commentaires et suggestions tout au long de nos travaux. Tous ceux que nous avons rencontrés partageaient la même passion pour les activités physiques et récréatives pour enfants.

Ces activités sont dirigées par des bénévoles partout au pays. Tout en nous réjouissant à l’idée des retombées possibles de ce crédit d’impôt sur le travail sur le terrain, il faudrait, à notre avis, éviter de prendre des mesures qui, involontairement, auraient pour effet de réduire le bénévolat à la base, qui demeure le pilier des activités physiques et sportives. La politique relative à ce crédit d’impôt doit être élaborée de manière à appuyer les bénévoles et à encourager encore davantage le bénévolat.

Le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants n’est qu’un début. Espérons qu’il sera la source d’un engagement plus grand de nos jeunes dans l’activité physique, et qu’il fasse en sorte que le Canada soit reconnu à l’échelle internationale comme un chef de file de l’activité et du conditionnement physique chez les enfants.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le ministre, l’expression de nos salutations distinguées.

 

Dr K. Kellie Leitch, Présidente
Groupe d’experts sur le crédit d’impôt
pour la condition physique des enfants

Présidente/Chef, Département de chirurgie pédiatrique, 
Doyenne-adjointe (externe),
Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, et
Codirectrice, Programme de maîtrise en administration des affaires
du secteur de la santé, Ivey School of Business,
University of Western Ontario

M. David Bassett
Conseiller principal en placements
Scotia McLeod
M. Michael Weil
Président-directeur général
YMCA Canada

Children’s Hospital of Western Ontario 
London Health Sciences Centre
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 5010, 
800 Commissioners Rd. E., London, Ontario, N6A 5W9
Healthy Children: our goal, our future.


Table des matières

Sommaire des recommandations

Des enfants qui bougent – L’objectif du crédit d’impôt 
pour la condition physique des enfants

Définition

Questions présentées au Groupe d’experts

Recommandations

Question à examiner

Notes

Remerciements

Annexes